Forum Stats

  • 3,826,752 Users
  • 2,260,703 Discussions
  • 7,897,071 Comments

Discussions

What is the correct way to load a new Java Netbeans lab as a project?

OTG-467455
OTG-467455 Member Posts: 506 Bronze Badge
edited Nov 27, 2017 2:30PM in Java Puzzle Ball

I tried to open JPB_MOOC_Lab3 as a project.  After this I could not get to the source files to continue with the lab.

Just wanting to know the correct way to load a project as supplied by the course coordinator so that the correct files, build xml, manifest etc are in the correct location.

Netbeans seesm to have loaded the files incorrectly.   This is the old 8.2 version of Netbeans.

Best Answer

  • OTG-467455
    OTG-467455 Member Posts: 506 Bronze Badge
    edited Nov 25, 2017 4:16AM Answer ✓

    I have by mistake clicked on New Project and then selected "Java Application" or "Java Project with Existing Sources" but this did not load the project files properly.

    To load or open a new project like the labs one must do the following:

    Click on File in the menu bar

    pastedImage_2.png

    Click on Open Project in the drop down menu

    pastedImage_6.png

    Navigate to the project in the Open Project dialogue and select the project to be opened by double clicking on desired project

    pastedImage_8.png

    Or click on the icon circled in red.

    pastedImage_1.png

    Then click on the project name in the box containing the java cup and this will cause the prokec name field to be populated with the appropriate project name.

    pastedImage_9.png

    Now click on the Open Project button and the project is registered in the Projects pane of the NetBeans.

    pastedImage_10.png

    You are ready to continue editing, compiling and running the Java program.

    This method I found to work correctly.

    NickR2600-Oracle

Answers

  • OTG-467455
    OTG-467455 Member Posts: 506 Bronze Badge
    edited Nov 23, 2017 4:54PM

    I have tried two approaches to loading a project one works and the other messes up the directory structure.

  • OTG-467455
    OTG-467455 Member Posts: 506 Bronze Badge
    edited Nov 25, 2017 4:16AM Answer ✓

    I have by mistake clicked on New Project and then selected "Java Application" or "Java Project with Existing Sources" but this did not load the project files properly.

    To load or open a new project like the labs one must do the following:

    Click on File in the menu bar

    pastedImage_2.png

    Click on Open Project in the drop down menu

    pastedImage_6.png

    Navigate to the project in the Open Project dialogue and select the project to be opened by double clicking on desired project

    pastedImage_8.png

    Or click on the icon circled in red.

    pastedImage_1.png

    Then click on the project name in the box containing the java cup and this will cause the prokec name field to be populated with the appropriate project name.

    pastedImage_9.png

    Now click on the Open Project button and the project is registered in the Projects pane of the NetBeans.

    pastedImage_10.png

    You are ready to continue editing, compiling and running the Java program.

    This method I found to work correctly.

    NickR2600-Oracle
  • NickR2600-Oracle
    NickR2600-Oracle Member Posts: 530 Employee
    edited Nov 27, 2017 2:30PM

    Thank you for such a thorough post!