Accessing different Oracle versions from C# applikation — oracle-tech

Forum Stats

• 3,716,136 Users
  • 2,242,961 Discussions
  • 7,845,842 Comments

Discussions

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Accessing different Oracle versions from C# applikation

JJespersen
JJespersen Member Posts: 3
edited March 2018 in ODP.NET

Hi folks,

I'm new to Oracle development. There, I said it. I've been accessing MS SQL databases for a llllooooonng time, but this Oracle stuff is getting to me. But I'm not here to start a bitchfight, just to get some pointers, hints, ideas or examples for how to solve my problem. Then I will love Oracle for as long as we both shall live.

So....

I have to different Linux servers, Server A running Oracle 9.2 and Server B running Oracle 12.2.
I also have a Windows Server (2008R2), on which i need to run an application. The application is very simple. Read data from DB on Server A, and insert into DB on Server B.

Now, as I understand it, database links between 9.2 and 12.2 are not possible, and from my (limited) experience, I cannot use the same driver/provider from C# for accessing both 9.2 and 12.2.

What would be the basic, ideal approach for solving this. What are the prerequisites (drivers, providers, clients (yes, I'm confused about these)) that are needed?

Any input is very welcomed.

Thanks,
J.Jespersen

Answers

• Alex Keh-Oracle
    Alex Keh-Oracle Posts: 2,753 Employee
    edited March 2018

I'm going to assume you are building an app, not trying to migrate from 9.2 DB to 12.2 DB. Migration is simpler with a tool, such as SQL Developer to Golden Gate, that is purpose-built with moving data between Oracle DB versions. ODP.NET is a data access API.