Forum Stats

  • 3,827,151 Users
  • 2,260,746 Discussions
  • 7,897,182 Comments

Discussions

StackOverflowError in eclipse Oxygen(OEPE) during application publishing using weblogic 10.3.6

Stefan D.
Stefan D. Member Posts: 7
edited Sep 10, 2018 8:26AM in Enterprise Pack for Eclipse

Hello,

i get an StackOverflowError in eclipse Oxygen (OEPE) during the publishing of my application (EAR) using weblogic 10.3.6.


Eclipse is logging the following error message.

!ENTRY org.eclipse.core.jobs 4 2 2018-07-09 16:54:11.960
!MESSAGE An internal error occurred during: "Publishing to Oracle WebLogic Server 11gR1 (10.3.6) [v3]...".
!STACK 0
java.lang.StackOverflowError
at java.lang.Exception.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.RuntimeException.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.IllegalArgumentException.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.NumberFormatException.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.NumberFormatException.forInputString(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.<init>(Version.java:36)
at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)
at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)
at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)
at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)
at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)
at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)

Looks almost like the problem addressed here: https://community.oracle.com/thread/3944182

Is it a bug, like it was in eclipse mars/neon before?
How can i work around the problem?

Environment Details:
----------------------
Eclipse Oxygen OEPE with latest updates
Oracle Weblogic Server/Scripting Tools - 17.2.0.2018.06.07.1916

eclipse.buildId=4.7.3.M20180330-0640
java.version=1.8.0_121
java.vendor=Oracle Corporation
BootLoader constants: OS=win32, ARCH=x86_64, WS=win32, NL=de_DE
Command-line arguments:  -data file:/G:/Workspaces/workspace/ -os win32 -ws win32 -arch x86_64 -clean

Using this eclipse update site

http://download.oracle.com/otn_software/oepe/12.2.1.8/oxygen/repository/

Weblogic Server - installed the latest available patches (e.g.)
WebLogic Server 10.3.6.0.180417 PSU Patch for BUG27395085 THU FEB 21 18:34:42 IST 2018

Thank you for your help.

Greetings

Stefan

«1

Answers

  • dvohra21
    dvohra21 Member Posts: 14,578 Gold Crown
    edited Jul 12, 2018 8:07PM

    How to deal with the StackOverflowError

    - The simplest solution is to carefully inspect the stack trace and detect the repeating pattern of line numbers. These line numbers indicate the code being recursively called. Once you detect these lines, you must carefully inspect your code and understand why the recursion never terminates.

    -If you have verified that the recursion is implemented correctly, you can increase the stack’s size, in order to allow a larger number of invocations. Depending on the Java Virtual Machine (JVM) installed, the default thread stack size may equal to either 512KB, or 1MB. You can increase the thread stack size using the -Xss flag. This flag can be specified either via the project’s configuration, or via the command line. The format of the -Xss argument is:

    -Xss<size>[g|G|m|M|k|K]

    https://examples.javacodegeeks.com/java-basics/exceptions/java-lang-stackoverflowerror-how-to-solve-stackoverflowerror/

  • Stefan D.
    Stefan D. Member Posts: 7
    edited Aug 16, 2018 11:31AM

    Hi,

    thanks for the advice, but at the moment i have no idea where to start.

    !MESSAGE An internal error occurred during: "Publishing to Oracle WebLogic Server 11gR1 (10.3.6) [v3]...".

    !STACK 0

    java.lang.StackOverflowError

    at java.lang.Exception.<init>(Unknown Source)

    at java.lang.RuntimeException.<init>(Unknown Source)

    at java.lang.IllegalArgumentException.<init>(Unknown Source)

    at java.lang.NumberFormatException.<init>(Unknown Source)

    at java.lang.NumberFormatException.forInputString(Unknown Source)

    at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)

    at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)

    at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.<init>(Version.java:36)

    at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)

    at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)

    at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)

    at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)

    at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)

    at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)

    The stack trace shows a NumberFormatException during the process of publishing my application.

    I just can guess, there is somewhere (maybe in a configuration file) a JEE Version number in an malformed Format that causes this StackOverflowError.

    But i have no idea where i can find these jee version number in eclipse or in the weblogic configuration.

    Any ideas's?

    Thank you.

  • dvohra21
    dvohra21 Member Posts: 14,578 Gold Crown
    edited Aug 18, 2018 3:34PM

    NumberFormatException is not due to Java EE version but due to "Thrown to indicate that the application has attempted to convert a string to one of the numeric types, but that the string does not have the appropriate format."

  • Stefan D.
    Stefan D. Member Posts: 7
    edited Aug 20, 2018 8:07AM

    Sure.

    The exception occurs somewhere here.

    at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.<init>(Version.java:36)

    at oracle.eclipse.tools.weblogic.j2eelib.Version.compareTo(Version.java:175)

    Eclipse Weblogic tools try to read a version number (during publishing).

    From where, is the tool the number reading from, so i can correct the number format  (if it is possible).

    That is my question.

  • dvohra21
    dvohra21 Member Posts: 14,578 Gold Crown
    edited Aug 20, 2018 5:21PM

    According to the message in linked post "The issue has been fixed and it will be available in the next OEPE release".

    Seems like is not fixed in the " next OEPE release". Please add a message to the linked post about issue is not being fixed.

  • Stefan D.
    Stefan D. Member Posts: 7
    edited Aug 21, 2018 12:03PM

    It was likely fixed in eclipse mars. In oxygen it is not working any more. 

    It's not possible to reopen the 'old' thread, it's already closed and archived.

  • dvohra21
    dvohra21 Member Posts: 14,578 Gold Crown
    edited Aug 21, 2018 12:58PM

    Couldn't have been fixed in the next version and not in the latter versions. Open a  new issue with a link to the earlier issue in the message.

  • Stefan D.
    Stefan D. Member Posts: 7
    edited Aug 22, 2018 11:33AM

    Sorry, i don't know where i can open a new issue to the OEPE problem i have, too many confusing forum, discussion or community sites. Can you help me?

  • Stefan D.
    Stefan D. Member Posts: 7
    edited Sep 6, 2018 6:42AM

    Done ... we will see. Thank you.

This discussion has been closed.