Forum Stats

• 3,733,849 Users
  • 2,246,830 Discussions
  • 7,856,894 Comments

Discussions

Setting up a development environment with a legacy codebase, my setup and resulting error.

Michael Curious
Michael Curious Member Posts: 2
edited October 2018 in PHP

Hey guys,

I'm a junior developer and I'm a *bit* in over my head here. There are no other senior developers on this project, and I'm having some difficulty even getting the site to work on my machine without throwing errors. I know this topic has been covered before, that's how I found these forums, but I'm unsure if I'm even installing the correct things for this environment. I've tried some of the troubleshooting steps from the other posts, but they seem to mostly apply to other operating systems.

My error:

Warning: oci_connect(): OCIEnvNlsCreate() failed. There is something wrong with your system - please check that PATH includes the directory with Oracle Instant Client libraries in C:\xampp\htdocs\wrc\database\connect.php on line 11

What I know:

I'm supposed to use OCI 8 & Xampp 5.6 to get plugged into our codebase. I've gotten conflicting stories on what my codebase uses. The technical people who've provided me guidance are working on another codebase that's using PHP 7, and the people more familiar with my project aren't technical at all. Neither has provided the information I need to launch and develop this codebase and I've run out of threads I can pull on for now. I'm hoping someone here can help me find more breadcrumbs.

Here's what I've installed according to my notes:

Windows 10

Xampp with PHP 5.6.38

Technical team tells me to use:

Oracle Instant Client 12.2

Non technical manager tells me to use https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kdWWnPC4xzs which uses instant client 11.2

My current install followed the instructions of my peers, except my PHP installation began throwing warnings that it was missing some DLL's.