• 3,852,528 Users
  • 2,264,112 Discussions
  • 7,905,094 Comments

Discussions

Pivot Tables

30303b71-e15b-44a4-a3f9-6a4680ce976f
edited Dec 24, 2018 12:08PM in SQL & PL/SQL

Hi guys,

I'm new to Oracle and I'm having a bit of trouble with the PIVOT command, most of the examples I've seen seem to revolve around counts and sums in the pivoyed column. I want to see the actual values in each column.

For example, I have a table that looks like this

EmployeeId    CategoryId    Value

1        1        UK

1        2        12345

1        3        XYZ

2        1        IE

2        2        56789

3        1        US

3        2        98765

3        3        ABC

And, what I want to see id this

EmployeeId    1    2    3

1        UK    12345    XYZ

2        IE    56789

3        US    98765    ABC

Any help would be appreciated

Tagged:

Answers

• mNem
    mNem Member Posts: 1,380 Gold Trophy
    edited Dec 24, 2018 4:30AM

with t (EmployeeId,CategoryId,Value) as

(

select 1,        1,        'UK'    from dual union all

select 1,        2,        '12345' from dual union all

select 1,        3,        'XYZ'   from dual union all

select 2,        1,        'IE'    from dual union all

select 2,        2,        '56789' from dual union all

select 3,        1,        'US'    from dual union all

select 3,        2,        '98765' from dual union all

select 3,        3,        'ABC'   from dual

)

select * from t

pivot

(

min(value) for (categoryid) in (1, 2, 3)

)

;

EMPLOYEEID 1     2     3  

---------- ----- ----- -----

1 UK    12345 XYZ  

2 IE    56789      

3 US    98765 ABC

Here is another way not using PIVOT.

select employeeid
    , min(decode(categoryid, 1, value)) as "1"
    , min(decode(categoryid, 2, value)) as "2"
    , min(decode(categoryid, 3, value)) as "3"
    from t
    group by employeeid
    order by 1
    ;

• mathguy
    mathguy Member Posts: 10,675 Blue Diamond
    edited Dec 24, 2018 12:08PM