Forum Stats

  • 3,768,513 Users
  • 2,252,804 Discussions
  • 7,874,602 Comments

Discussions

Your feedback wanted: New Update to Oracle Developer Tools for VS Code version 19.3.2 (released 9/30

Christian.Shay -Oracle
Christian.Shay -Oracle Posts: 1,965 Employee

[This thread is old and is now closed and cannot be replied to. We are eager to hear your feedback so please start a new thread and tell us what you think!]

We have just released a new update to Oracle Developer Tools for VS Code, version 19.3.2 (released 9/30/19). Please try it out and start a thread in this forum with your feedback or reply to this thread.

Visual Studio Code automatically checks for extension updates and installs them. After updating you will be prompted to restart Visual Studio Code. If you have disabled automatic updates, press F1 to open the Command Palette and enter the Check for Extension Updates command and click the Update... button which will appear in the list of installed extensions.

If you are new to this extension, please see the quickstart:

https://www.oracle.com/database/technologies/appdev/dotnet/odtvscodequickstart.html

Changes in version 19.3.2

  • Editor supports autocompletion of schema object names
  • New connection dialog replaces "interview style" connection process
  • "Develop New Query" menu item renamed to "Develop New SQL or PL/SQL"
  • File extension .sql is now default rather than .plsql
  • "Run" Stored Procedure/Function shortcut changed to Ctrl-E
  • Run Stored Procedure/Function saves unsaved code to database before executing
  • "Delete Connection", "Update Connection", "Connect", and "Disconnect" menu items added to Oracle Database Explorer
  • "Refresh" menu item added to all Oracle Database Explorer nodes
  • Oracle Database Explorer supports filtering to display a subset of nodes
vasjaUser_835IIc8f68cca-622e-4738-a70c-439a2a13f259user1175340Pobulic
«134

Answers

  • c2231f33-9491-4880-98f4-c11eb36352b0
    edited Oct 7, 2019 12:31AM

    Please we need only one result of the query to be copied, since I have to always save the entire result

  • Christian.Shay -Oracle
    Christian.Shay -Oracle Posts: 1,965 Employee
    edited Oct 7, 2019 1:05AM
    c2231f33-9491-4880-98f4-c11eb36352b0 wrote:Please we need only one result of the query to be copied, since I have to always save the entire result

    You can already save an entire resultset in either CSV or JSON format by clicking the icon on the far right. If that is not enough, can you try to explain what you are looking for? Thanks!

  • luke_oth
    luke_oth Member Posts: 2 Red Ribbon
    edited Oct 14, 2019 5:37AM

    In new version compilation of the package ends with:

    SQL: CREATE OR REPLACE
    Error: Oracle error ORA-12571 encountered does not have existing connection

    or
    Specified URI '...' does not have existing connection

    So how should I compile the package?

    And still - During editing a package I don't see the outline... Where can I find list of functions and procedures?

    I am using VS code on MacOS.

  • cb52a464-4197-422f-a464-30631071f263
    edited Oct 16, 2019 9:34AM

    I was searching an extension for Vscode and I found this one, for me is impressive the work made on that. Also, using Oracle Developer I do lot's of work with other users objects, and there is no other users objects on  VSCODE extension, just appear my user objects. Is possible explore others schemas with my user with VSCODE extension?

    vasjaUser_835II
  • G. Montoya
    G. Montoya Member Posts: 3
    edited Oct 17, 2019 4:07PM

    Executing multiple CREATE statements in a single script fails.

    The CREATE statements immediately following the first appear to remove all whitespace.

  • Christian.Shay -Oracle
    Christian.Shay -Oracle Posts: 1,965 Employee
    edited Oct 20, 2019 2:53PM
    G. Montoya wrote:Executing multiple CREATE statements in a single script fails.The CREATE statements immediately following the first appear to remove all whitespace.

    I can't reproduce this with the following... can you give me an example?

    create table eemp1 as select * from employees;

    create table eemp2 as select * from employees;

    create table eemp3 as select * from employees;

    create table eemp4 as select * from employees;

  • vasja
    vasja Member Posts: 1
    edited Oct 23, 2019 11:04AM

    Results of Select query don't allow selecting same named column more than once. People use such queries regularly when analyzing data.

    Usually similar tools add some suffix to column names.

    Two examples of such queries below.

    Ex1:

    SQL: select DUMMY, d.* from dual d
    Error: A column named 'DUMMY' already belongs to this DataTable

    Ex2:

    SQL: select d.DUMMY, d2.DUMMY from dual d inner join dual d2 on 1=1
    Error: A column named 'DUMMY' already belongs to this DataTable.
    c8f68cca-622e-4738-a70c-439a2a13f259
  • Ray007
    Ray007 Member Posts: 37 Bronze Badge
    edited Nov 19, 2019 11:30PM

    Are radius authenticated connections supported?

  • golinski
    golinski Member Posts: 1
    edited Nov 20, 2019 3:31AM

    Hello!

    Everything works fine for me!

    I have only a request to improve usability.

    I need the ability to collapse procedures and functions bodies into one line. Now I can fold only parts of the code based on indentation.

    Thanks!

  • 914216ae-03a5-4af7-977a-95bab16dc574
    edited Dec 4, 2019 2:55AM

    we need dynamic binding feature like SQL Developer's parameter binding.

This discussion has been closed.