Forum Stats

• 3,838,987 Users
  • 2,262,432 Discussions
  • 7,900,829 Comments

Discussions

Where do I begin when it comes to SQL and Oracle?

New2SQLWoah
New2SQLWoah Member Posts: 7 Green Ribbon
edited Jan 17, 2020 9:06AM in SQL & PL/SQL

Forgive me for having the most basic question, however, I am brand new to using SQL.

I am curious how to find out which tables are available to query in my system for the HCM product. Is there a query I can enter in BI that will give me a list of all the tables that we are using currently?

From there, I would also be interested in knowing the names of all the columns within these tables so that I have that information readily availably for querying.

Lastly, when I am transacting within 'Person Management', is there a way to determine what the name of a field would be if I wanted to report on it? For instance, I enter gender on a new employee and know that in BI that field would be called 'Gender_Employee' (making that up).

Tagged:
jaramillChristian Berg-0racleJohn Thorton

Best Answer

• HolgerH
    HolgerH Member Posts: 125 Bronze Badge
    edited Jan 17, 2020 5:29AM Answer ✓

Hello,

from your question I assume, you are working with Fusion Oracle HCM Cloud. So you may not have a direct SQL database access (clouds let you stand in the rain). However, you can execute SQL select statements in OTBI tool or OBIEE - depending on what your company has subscribed to.Frank Kulash gave you a link to a specific BI forum handlign the operations of this tool.