Forum Stats

• 3,733,966 Users
  • 2,246,849 Discussions
  • 7,856,954 Comments

Discussions

ODT for Visual Studio 2019 - Asking to fix configuration every time

4203322 Member Posts: 2

Hello guys,

I am new to the whole "app connecting to oracle" world, so please bare with me.

I recently installed visual studio 2019 and I am trying to connect to an oracle database using the EFcore. So, after several google search I can across ODT for VS2019, which I am aware is kinda new. The thing is, I installed everything and now each time I open VS and the Server Explorer Tab it shows me the following message.

pastedImage_0.png

After that, I need to close Vs, wait for it to install and re-open. Then again, when I open Server Explorer the same thing happen.

Shuld I click NO and try to add a connection it shows me the following:

pastedImage_1.png

So I am out of ideas of what I am doing wrong here. If anybody could shed some light on this I would appreciate.

Tagged:

Answers

• Christian.Shay -Oracle
    Christian.Shay -Oracle Posts: 1,856 Employee
    edited March 2020

Do you have administrator privileges? It is required to configure ODT.

Try right clicking on VS 2019 and select "Run as Administrator".

4203322 Member Posts: 2
    edited March 2020

Yes I am admnistrator, and yes I tried with Running as admin even so. Yet, it did not work.

• Christian.Shay -Oracle
    edited March 2020

Hi,

Sorry you are still having this issue. Let's try a few more things:

1) Please tell me how you exactly you installed ODT?

2) Let us reproduce the problem again and this time, lets get a log file:

(a) close Visual Studio

(b) In the Start menu of windows,  under VS 2019, Open a VS2019 developer command prompt with admin privileges

(c) From this cmd promt, type "devenv /log"

(d) reproduce the issue in vs2019 (try to install and configure