• 2,254,591 Discussions
  • 7,879,908 Comments

Discussions

Limit error on function - help required

Ram43
Ram43 Member Posts: 1
edited May 5, 2020 9:44AM in SQL & PL/SQL

Hi All,

I am new to PL/SQL and this forum and require some assistance with an issue. I have a function which is using a 'BULK COLLECT' and causing a limit error, can you help suggest how I would overcome this issue? I have tested a few different changes I found from Google searches but none have worked so far. Below is the query causing the error:

FUNCTION get_a

(

mode      VARCHAR2,

p.web_id   NUMBER

)

RETURN ID_TABLE

AS

v_a_ids    ID_TABLE;

v_grant_access VARCHAR2(1);

BEGIN

BEGIN

SELECT web_grant_access

INTO v_grant_access

FROM web_users

WHERE web_id = p.web_id

AND web_deleted_yn = 'N';

IF v_grant_access = 'Y' THEN

SELECT sav_id

BULK COLLECT INTO v_a_ids

FROM saved_quotats;

RETURN v_a_ids;

END IF;

EXCEPTION WHEN NO_DATA_FOUND THEN

NULL;

END;

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Message was edited by: Ram43

Tagged:

Answers

• Frank Kulash
    Frank Kulash Member, Moderator Posts: 41,388 Red Diamond
    edited May 4, 2020 6:23PM

Hi,

Ram43 wrote:Hi All,I am new to PL/SQL and this forum and require some assistance with an issue. 

Welcome to the Forum!

Whenever you have a question, please post a little sample data (CREATE TABLE and INSERT statements, relevant columns only) for all the tables involved, and the exact results you want from that data, so that the people who want to help you can re-create the problem and test their ideas.

If you're asking about a DML operation, such as UPDATE, then the INSERT statements you post should show what the tables are like before the DML, and the results will be the contents of the changed table after the DML.

Explain, using specific examples, how you get those results from that data.

Always say what version of Oracle you're using (e.g. 12.2.0.2.0).

See the forum FAQ: