• 3,734,276 Users
  • 2,246,935 Discussions
  • 7,857,216 Comments

Discussions

APEX form to update/insert/delete data in Oracle table with an approval flow

User_MPPTF
User_MPPTF Member Posts: 5 Green Ribbon

Hi,

I am completely new to APEX development and I just installed APEX on our Oracle Exadata platform.

We have a requirement from our Users to be able to perform DML operation on a table and have an approval process before performing the DML on the table. Could you pls help me in the below requirement and guide the best possible solution and next steps for the same

Requirement -

User u1 needs to insert/update/delete on the data in one table (t1) and maintain a log for the changes made in table (t2). Here table t2 DDL will be table t1 + audit columns to store logs

Here, table t1 has 8 million records

There needs to be an approval process so that the changes posted in APEX form by user U1, first go through an approval process, and another user AU1 can either approve/reject those changes. If approved the changes will be performed on t1 and logs maintained in t2

Since multiple users could be making updates to this table we need to either allow parallel changes or allow only 1 user to access/change at a time. Also the actual USER ID of the user posting the changes should be stored in both tables t1 and t2 in one of the columns to trace back user

U1 would need to be able to see the data in t1 and decide if they need to make changes

Approver user AU1 should also be able to see the existing table t1 content

Your help is highly appreciated and at this point very crucial to get a headstart on this totally new requirement

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• fac586
    fac586 Senior Technical Architect Member Posts: 19,676 Black Diamond

Please update your forum profile with a recognisable username instead of "User_MPPTF".