Forum Stats

• 3,781,246 Users
  • 2,254,495 Discussions
  • 7,879,623 Comments

Discussions

Is the "Oracle Database for Python Developers Quickstart" in need of updating ?

I'm a new student user trying to setup a python scripted Oracle database so I apologize if my formatting or tech-speak is wrong. On the "Oracle Database for Python Developers, Part 1: cx_oracle quick start page.

They say that I should run the simplequery.py file but there is some formatting issues and I'm not sure what or how to fix it.

To start it adds expo infant of the import statement which causes an issue in python so I commented it out, then the bottom line starts with "rt" but I'm not aware of what that is.

# expo
import cx_Oracle
try:
   conn = cx_Oracle.connect("hr", "oracle", "dbhostname/orcl")
   sql="""SELECT d.* FROM departments d, locations l WHERE
       l.city = :city AND d.location_id = l.location_id"""
   column_length=[5, 22, 6, 5]
   cursor = conn.cursor()
   for row in cursor.execute(sql, city = 'Seattle'):
      for i in range (len(row)):
         print(str(row[i]).ljust(column_length[i]), end='')
      print()
except cx_Oracle.DatabaseError as exc:
   err, = exc.args
   print("Oracle-Error-Code:", err.code)
   print("Oracle-Error-Message:", err.message)
finally:
   cursor.close()
   conn.close()
   rt LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/oracle/12.2/client64/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Can anybody link me to a python script that works for python 3.8 or at least python 3. I'm getting better at learning python but now that I'm adding oracle database to it things get complicated quick.

Answers

• user9540031
    user9540031 Member Posts: 144 Silver Badge

Well... Looks like the "expo" bit has something to do with that "rt" thing down below 😉, yielding:

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/oracle/12.2/client64/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH