Forum Stats

• 3,782,956 Users
  • 2,254,715 Discussions
  • 7,880,228 Comments

Discussions

how to concatenate all the tables of an oracle version 8i database

Hi everyone, I am new to the oracle community, and I have a problem with an oracle database on version 8i. What I want to do is concatenate all the tables in a database (database name is SYS) and I put the following query:

select table_name from all_tables where rownum < 3

And when I did, I skip the following error:

SQL execution error, ORA-01427: single-row subquery returns more than one row

Try putting wm_concat ():

select wm_concat (table_name) from SYS.all_tables where rownum < 3

but I get the following error:

SQL execution error, ORA-00904: invalid column name

Also try concat ():

select concat (table_name) from SYS.all_tables where rownum < 3

but I get this error:

SQL execution error, ORA-00909: invalid number of arguments

And finally, try LISTAGG:

SELECT LISTAGG (table_name || CHR (58) || CHR (58) || column_name || CHR (60) || CHR (108) || CHR (105) || CHR (62)) within group (ORDER BY table_name ) FROM SYS.all_tab_columns WHERE rownum < 2

But I get this error too:

SQL execution error, ORA-00923: FROM keyword not found where expected

I don't know what to do to be able to concatenate all the tables in the SYS database.

If someone knows how please help me and tell me how to solve this problem, I would be very grateful.

Answers

• EdStevens
    EdStevens Member Posts: 28,615 Gold Crown

Hi everyone, I am new to the oracle community, and I have a problem with an oracle database on version 8i.

FWIW, 8i has been out of support since before the beginning of the millennium.

What I want to do is concatenate all the tables in a database

Exactly what do you mean by 'concatenate all the tables'. I ask, because on the face of it, that makes no sense at all.

(database name is SYS)