Forum Stats

• 3,726,957 Users
  • 2,245,297 Discussions
  • 7,852,509 Comments

Discussions

How do I get the month or year from a date picker.

User_QU88A
User_QU88A Member Posts: 6 Green Ribbon

I am just getting started in APEX. I have a table with DATE, MONTH, and YEAR columns. My user will select the DATE using a date picker component. When the date is chosen I would like to populate the MONTH and YEAR components automatically.

What would that code look like and where exactly do I place it so it updates MONTH and year every time it changes before the form is submitted.

Any help would be appreciated.

Tagged:

Best Answer

• User_QU88A
    Accepted Answer

This is the solution I ended up using:

Dynamic Action = Execute Server-side code

This code:

:P4_MONTH := TO_CHAR(TO_DATE(:P4_MY_DATE, 'MM/DD/YYYY'),'MONTH');

:P4_YEAR := TO_CHAR(TO_DATE(:P4_MY_DATE, 'MM/DD/YYYY'),'YYYY');

Items to Submit = P4_MY_DATE

Items to Return = P4_MONTH,P4_YEAR

Answers

• Mr.Peabody
    Mr.Peabody Member Posts: 10 Red Ribbon

Use the following code to select month and similary year ('YYYY' or 'YY') also in your insert statement.

TO_CHAR(:PAGE_ITEM_NAME, 'MM')

I hope it will help 😉

• User_QU88A

That is a start, but how do I tie the page item value of the date picker to the page item value of the Month column?

I am trying to use a dynamic action on the date picker item to use that code but I can't get it setup correctly.

• jariola
    jariola Member Posts: 10,191 Bronze Crown
    edited April 10

What is data type for your DATE, YEAR and MONTH columns?

I propose that you have only one column that data type is DATE. When you query data, you can get e.g. only year and month using to_char or in APEX reports using format mask.

Depending your database version, you can also have virtual column that shows e.g. year and/or month from DATE. Or create view.

Here is small example for virtual column and view

create table dt(
     id number primary key,