Forum Stats

• 3,757,184 Users
  • 2,251,207 Discussions
  • 7,869,754 Comments

Discussions

What is the use of readAheadLimit parameter in the method mark of BufferedReader class?

I am new to Java language. As I was playing around with the BufferedReader class, I came across the parameter readAheadLimit in the mark method. though I read its definition, still I am not able to understand it. I searched around different websites to get its clear meaning . almost all the websites I visited quoted the definition present in the oracle document. I want some one to help me understand the definition of readAheadLimit with some examples.

Answers

• The readAheadLimit parameter determines the number of characters that can be read from the stream while still preserving the mark. Put the mark and keep reading from the stream, observe the mark retained only up to the point of the read operations reach this readAheadLimit, after that the mark would no longer be valid.

User_LH8PA
  • User_LH8PA
    User_LH8PA Member Posts: 1 Green Ribbon
    mport java.io.InputStreamReader;
    import java.io.Reader;
    import java.io.BufferedReader;

public class SecondProgram {
        public static void main(String[] args)  {
           try {
                InputStreamReader is = new InputStreamReader(System.in);
                BufferedReader br = new BufferedReader(is);
                System.out.println("Enter the input");
                System.out.println("MarkSupported "+br.markSupported());
                System.out.println("Mark ");
               br.mark(5);
                System.out.println(br.readLine());
                br.reset();
               System.out.println(br.readLine());
           }catch(Exception ex){

}
        }
    }

I executed the program. Following lines I just copied from my terminal and they include both input and output.

Enter the input

MarkSupported true

Mark 

abcdefghijklmnopq

abcdefghijklmnopq

abcdefghijklmnopq