Forum Stats

• 3,759,224 Users
  • 2,251,514 Discussions
  • 7,870,541 Comments

Discussions

Stats Gather issue

Hey all,

Oracle 19c standalone

I have a developer who has created a table thats about 20G and has about 1500 to 1600 partitions and sub-partitions and 21 indexes. Stats gather fails on this table 99% of the time or takes days to complete.

Is there a good/better way to collect on this  or should he look at the design, i feel like 20G isnt that big but i feel like its all the partitions. Im not a developer so i dont know maybe this is normal

I tried

BEGIN dbms_stats.gather_table_stats(ownname=>'CAT', TABNAME=>'ORDER_SEARCH', estimate_percent => dbms_stats.AUTO_SAMPLE_SIZE, degree =>32, cascade=>true); END;

--

BEGIN dbms_stats.gather_table_stats(ownname=>'CAT', TABNAME=>'ORDER_SEARCH', estimate_percent => dbms_stats.AUTO_SAMPLE_SIZE, degree =>32, cascade=>false); END;

Thanks

Dave

Tagged:

Best Answer

• T1DSoldier
    T1DSoldier Member Posts: 60 Blue Ribbon
    Accepted Answer

How do i check if the index is local, I dont believe it is

select INDEX_NAME,INDEX_type ,GLOBAL_STATS from dba_indexes where table_name like 'ORDER_SEARCH'

they all say index_type normal and global_stats yes, except for the ctx one thats index_type domain and global_stats no

I did check select * from dba_ind_partitions where index_owner='CAT' and INDEX_NAME in (select INDEX_NAME from dba_indexes where table_name like '%ORDER_SEARCH');

and it did pull back 6969 rows

he is partitioning on company, as long as you put the right filter on the queries return fast but if you try to order and not filter its not good.

PARTITION BY LIST (COMPANY) AUTOMATIC

SUBPARTITION BY LIST (COMPANY_ID)

(  PARTITION COMPANY_P1 VALUES ('BINGO_INC')

(SUBPARTITION VALUES (DEFAULT)