• 2,254,411 Discussions
  • 7,879,386 Comments

Discussions

Search for value in field across database

2»

Answers

• Alex Nuijten
    Alex Nuijten Member Posts: 182 Silver Badge

So, it's not a user-requirement but a convenience-requirement for a developer?

• User_7WIPY
    User_7WIPY Member Posts: 7 Green Ribbon

In a way. I am tasked with developing crystal Reports based on the Oracle data. Finding which tables hold the required data for reports can be very difficult. Being able to search for a value is one way to track which tables a transaction within the erp system records data. I am not an oracle developer but can use basic SQL language.

• Solomon Yakobson
    Solomon Yakobson Member Posts: 19,005 Red Diamond

So you are "hacking" vendor app. Not a good idea. Oracle ERP is proprietary product and you simply can't rely on table structure and where what data lives since it can change from one release to another thus breaking your reports. That's why ERP has own reporting.

SY.

• User_7WIPY

Solomon. I don't understand why you would call this "hacking". The ERP app in question has limited reporting capabilities provided by crystal reports. No company I have ever seen has purely used builtin ERP reports. Every company connects the data to other data reporting and analysis tools to provide reporting/dashboards etc. to end users. It is my job at an end user site to produce custom reports for the end user company. You are correct in saying that database structures can change but in my experience it is usual that fields are added to tables in updates but rarely moved or taken away.

As stated previously there are tools produced to achieve this in SQL Server so it is unlikely I am the only person who would like this functionality in Oracle.

• Solomon Yakobson
    Solomon Yakobson Member Posts: 19,005 Red Diamond