• 7,870,107 Comments

Discussions

Question on SQL Plan Baselines

BlueSkies
BlueSkies Member Posts: 73 Blue Ribbon
edited Sep 21, 2021 8:32AM in General Database Discussions

DB version : 12.1.0.2.0

I am kind of new to SQL Plan Baselines 

Question 1. Is it wise to disable auto capture of SQL Plan baselines ?

I have noticed in my 12c (12.1.0.2.0) databases, all SQLs seem to be using auto captured baselines and I have the following setting 

SQL> show parameter baselines

PARAMETER_NAME                        TYPE    VALUE
------------------------------------------------------------ ----------- --------------------------
optimizer_capture_sql_plan_baselines             boolean   TRUE
optimizer_use_sql_plan_baselines               boolean   TRUE

Why does Oracle do it ? 

Is it because Oracle does not want a plan to be flushed off from the shared pool in scenarios like gathering stats with "no_invalidate => false" ?

So, Is it wise to disable auto capture of SQL Plan baselines by setting optimizer_capture_sql_plan_baselines parameter to FALSE ?

I want to disable it because I don't see anything wrong with the good old method of letting Oracle generate a plan and then store that plan (not baseline) in the shared pool and re-use it. I am not against baselines. But, I want to use only manually loaded baselines. Is that stupid decision ?

Question 2

If the following query returns no rows, is it safe to assume that no manually created baselines exist for queries that refer tables in SIEBEL schema ?

SELECT *
FROM  dba_sql_plan_baselines
WHERE parsing_schema_name = 'SIEBEL'
AND  origin != 'AUTO-CAPTURE' ;

Best Answer

• JohnWatson2
    JohnWatson2 Member Posts: 4,315 Silver Crown
    Accepted Answer

The default is optimizer_capture_sql_plan_baselines=false, so clearly your DBA has made a decision to capture and use baselines. If you think that they were wrong to do this, better discuss it with them.