Forum Stats

• 3,767,982 Users
  • 2,252,736 Discussions
  • 7,874,399 Comments

Discussions

Error when starting ORDS standalone - Character ( is neither a decimal digit number, decimal point,

doberkofler
doberkofler Member Posts: 30 Blue Ribbon

I can successfully configure and start the standalone version of ORDS 21.3 locally on my macOS system. When I try to configure and run the same ORDS version in a debian based docker container based upon the "openjdk:11-jre-slim-bullseye" image, the configuration process works as expected and all commands execute like loc ally, but when trying to start ORDS in standalone mode I only get the following error message without any stack or other hint on what might have gone wrong:

"Character ( is neither a decimal digit number, decimal point, nor "e" notation exponential mark."

I have very little knowledge of Java and absolutely no idea on where to even start searching, so any help is very welcome.

# java --version

openjdk 11.0.13 2021-10-19

OpenJDK Runtime Environment 18.9 (build 11.0.13+8)

OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM 18.9 (build 11.0.13+8, mixed mode, sharing)

# java -jar ords.war set-property database.api.enabled true

2021-10-25T12:29:47.134Z INFO    Modified: /opt/ords/config/ords/defaults.xml, setting: database.api.enabled = true

# java -jar ords.war standalone

Character ( is neither a decimal digit number, decimal point, nor "e" notation exponential mark.

When running on Java 1.8.0_312 I at least seem to get an error stack as follows:

java.lang.NumberFormatException

at java.math.BigDecimal.<init>(BigDecimal.java:497)

at java.math.BigDecimal.<init>(BigDecimal.java:383)

at java.math.BigDecimal.<init>(BigDecimal.java:809)

at oracle.dbtools.common.util.PrimitiveTypes.valueOfNumber(PrimitiveTypes.java:212)

at oracle.dbtools.common.util.PrimitiveTypes.valueOf(PrimitiveTypes.java:176)

at oracle.dbtools.common.util.PrimitiveTypes.valueOf(PrimitiveTypes.java:150)