Forum Stats

  • 3,851,672 Users
  • 2,264,011 Discussions
  • 7,904,815 Comments

Discussions

Oracle Form Builder - Database tables do not show when creating a new data block.

Moslem
Moslem Member Posts: 39 Green Ribbon

When creating a new data block in Oracle Form Builder, the tables that I have created do not show after connecting to database. Here are some screenshots :

However, I find all the tables when running the two command-lines in the command prompt :

sqlplus c##aimen/[email protected]

select * from tab;

Here is another screenshot :

This is my tnsnames.ora file content :

Any idea how to fix that?

Comments

  • Michael Ferrante-Oracle
    Michael Ferrante-Oracle Senior Principal Product Manager USMember Posts: 7,384 Employee

    Does your DB username actually have "##" in it? If so, try adding quotes around the username. Note however that if you do this, the string will be submitted exactly as you enter it. Meaning for example it will be case sensitive. So be sure to enter it exactly as it appears in the DB.


    Michael Ferrante

    Senior Principal Product Manager

    Oracle

    Twitter: @OracleFormsPM

  • Moslem
    Moslem Member Posts: 39 Green Ribbon

    Yes, my DB username does contain "##". Here are the command-lines that I ran in order to create it :

    CREATE USER c##aimen IDENTIFIED BY mon_mot_de_passe CONTAINER=ALL;
    GRANT dba TO c##aimen CONTAINER=ALL;
    

    I have actually tried to add quotes (whether simple or double ones) around it as it is shown in the screenshots below (for all the cases that I have tried).

    However, I got the error message below for each one of them :

    ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied


  • cormaco
    cormaco Member Posts: 1,986 Silver Crown

    Maybe SQLPlus and Forms Developer use different TNSNAMES.ORA files.

    In the file you have shown ORCL points to the PDB ORCLPDB and perhaps in the other to the CDB$ROOT.

    Actually ORCL is the default name of the CDB$ROOT in a Oracle 19 installation.

  • Michael Ferrante-Oracle
    Michael Ferrante-Oracle Senior Principal Product Manager USMember Posts: 7,384 Employee

    If you are connecting to a containerized DB, the Builder is only supported connecting to the PDB. Is that what you are doing?


    Michael Ferrante

    Senior Principal Product Manager

    Oracle

    Twitter: @OracleFormsPM

  • Moslem
    Moslem Member Posts: 39 Green Ribbon

    Indeed! I need to coonect to a PDB not a containerized DB.

    I have finally fixed it! 😎

    I just ran the command-line below:

    ALTER SESSION SET CONTAINER = ORCLPDB;
    

    Here are some screeshots that illustrate how I proceeded in details :

    Many thanks for your tips! 🙂

  • cormaco
    cormaco Member Posts: 1,986 Silver Crown

    Here is a tip: If you enter "chcp 1252" in your CMD window before starting SQLPlus your french characters are displayed correctly:

    C:\>chcp 1252
    Active Codepage: 1252.
    
    C:\>sqlplus hr/[email protected]
    SQL*Plus: Release 19.0.0.0.0 - Production on Jeu. Mars 17 08:34:23 2022
    Version 19.3.0.0.0
    Copyright (c) 1982, 2019, Oracle.  All rights reserved.
    
    Heure de la dernière connexion réussie : Jeu. Mars  17 2022 08:34:00 +01:00
    
    Connecté à :
    Oracle Database 19c Standard Edition 2 Release 19.0.0.0.0 - Production
    Version 19.3.0.0.0
    SQL>
    
    
    
  • Moslem
    Moslem Member Posts: 39 Green Ribbon

    I see...

    Bunch of thanks for your tip 🙂