Forum Stats

• 3,825,283 Users
  • 2,260,497 Discussions
  • 7,896,478 Comments

Discussions

Want a simple web application for my business, is APEX a good choice?

GlenStrom
GlenStrom Member Posts: 218 Bronze Badge

I want to develop a simple app I can use for my business, starting with a couple of tables to track expenses, revenue, etc. that I currently just use a google docs spreadsheet for.

However the spreadsheet is large and cumbersome, I'd like something simpler where I can enter my info in a form with dropdown lists etc. I'm an Oracle DBA, not a developer, and have only built some simple "database" applications in MSACCESS some years ago. So this is all new territory for me.

I was just going to install Oracle XE on my home desktop, then build a front end for it in APEX, which I see is no longer included with XE. However since I can update my google docs sheet from anywhere, I was thinking I'd like to have it on the web, so I can make entries to it from home on my desktop or when I'm on the road from my laptop, and am wondering what's the best way to do this. I'd also like to give read access to my accountant for doing year end taxes, etc. like I do with my google sheet.

I've installed XE (10 & 11) for small databases before, but never for a web environment, and wonder where I'd look at hosting such a database/application. I host a few domains for simple websites, but none of these providers support anything other than MySQL for database back ends.

I remember when APEX first came out you could build applications on an Oracle site for free, but my memory is foggy on exactly what you could do with these sites.

Is it practical (or possible) to install XE on the web somewhere? I assume I could host an APEX front end on any of my existing domains?

Or should I be looking at something more mainstream like MySQL database with a more traditional web php based front end already offered by the hosting company I currently use.

Thanks in advance

Answers

• InoL