• 3,872,120 Users
  • 2,266,382 Discussions
  • 7,911,052 Comments

Discussions

Question About Javascript in Interactive Grid

User_JNHXJ
User_JNHXJ Member Posts: 16 Green Ribbon
edited Sep 18, 2022 8:57AM in APEX Discussions

Hello im new to apex,and currently still learning about the usage of java script in apex.

yesterday i found this code

var a;

a=this.data.model.getValue(this.data.selectedRecords[0],"FIRST_NAME");

apex.item("P17_ZZZ").setValue(a);

this code is used to get "FIRST_NAME" column value from a selected record in Interactive grid and pass it into an item called P17_ZZZ.

my question is

what is ".data.model" and ".data" in this code means? because i cant find a single document which contain information about ".data.model" or ".data" and based on my knowledge i can assume this code is only works for interactive grid report.

Best Answer

• Pierre Yotti
    Pierre Yotti Member Posts: 4,046 Bronze Crown
    edited Sep 18, 2022 2:11PM Answer ✓

Hello User_JNHXJ,

this.data is not just related to the interactive grid. it depends on the event. The event can be an interactive grid event or a page item event and so on.

The data returned by this.data depends on the event handler. In the case of the IG (selection change event) this.data, return a model object and selectedRecord Array.

• Try this for example in the Browser Console. Here the event is the interactivegridselectionchange
    • emp is the Grid static ID
    $("#emp").on("interactivegridselectionchange", function(event, data) {
     console.log(data)
    });

• And then select a row in The Grid, you will get an object as result with model and selectedRecord as attributes

Check out some interactive grid events here

Thanks

Pierre

Answers

• Pierre Yotti

Hello User_JNHXJ,

this.data is optional extra data that can be passed by any event handler.