Forum Stats

  • 3,728,513 Users
  • 2,245,641 Discussions
  • 7,853,562 Comments

Discussions

installing oracle 10.1.0.5

607104
607104 Member Posts: 387
Hi,

I am installing 10.1.0.5 on windows 2003 32 bit. I have installed the base version software only (10.1.0.2). I have downloaded 10.1.0.5 patch set.

In the disk1 I have clicked setup.exe and installed the patchset on the same oracle home as 10.1.0.2. It successfully installed and clicked exit.

Now do I need to run any scripts or is software is upgraded to 10.1.0.5?

I have read the "read me" but it never explained the details for new installation, it explains for existing database.

Thanks

Comments

  • 247514
    247514 Member Posts: 10,875 Bronze Trophy
    There are couple of ways to find out,
    run opatch with
    opatch lsinventory 
    or simply login as sqlplus you will see the banner of your DB version

    and or after login
    select * from v$version
     %sqlplus / as sysdba

    SQL*Plus: Release 10.2.0.3.0 - Production on Thu Jun 5 12:22:05 2008

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2006, Oracle. All Rights Reserved.


    Connected to:
    Oracle Database 10g Enterprise Edition Release 10.2.0.3.0 - 64bit Production
    With the Partitioning, OLAP and Data Mining options

    [email protected] > select * from v$version
    2 /

    BANNER
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Oracle Database 10g Enterprise Edition Release 10.2.0.3.0 - 64bi
    PL/SQL Release 10.2.0.3.0 - Production
    CORE 10.2.0.3.0 Production
    TNS for Linux: Version 10.2.0.3.0 - Production
    NLSRTL Version 10.2.0.3.0 - Production
  • 607104
    607104 Member Posts: 387
    E:\oracle\product\10.1.0\Db_1\OPatch>set ORACLE_HOME=E:\ORACLE\PRODUCT\10.1.0\DB
    _1

    E:\oracle\product\10.1.0\Db_1\OPatch>opatch lsinventory

    Oracle Interim Patch Installer version 1.0.0.0.53
    Copyright (c) 2005 Oracle Corporation. All Rights Reserved..

    We recommend you refer to the OPatch documentation under
    OPatch/docs for usage reference. We also recommend using
    the latest OPatch version. For the latest OPatch version
    and other support related issues, please refer to document
    293369.1 which is viewable from metalink.oracle.com

    Oracle Home = E:\ORACLE\PRODUCT\10.1.0\DB_1
    Location of Oracle Universal Installer components = E:\ORACLE\PRODUCT\10.1.0\DB_
    1\oui
    Location of OraInstaller.jar = "E:\ORACLE\PRODUCT\10.1.0\DB_1\oui\jlib"
    Oracle Universal Installer shared library = E:\ORACLE\PRODUCT\10.1.0\DB_1\oui\li
    b\win32\oraInstaller.dll
    Location of Oracle Inventory Pointer = N/A
    Location of Oracle Inventory = E:\ORACLE\PRODUCT\10.1.0\DB_1\inventory
    Path to Java = "E:\ORACLE\PRODUCT\10.1.0\DB_1\jre\1.4.2\bin\java.exe"
    Log file = E:\ORACLE\PRODUCT\10.1.0\DB_1/.patch_storage/<patch ID>/*.log

    Creating log file "E:\oracle\product\10.1.0\db_1\.patch_storage\LsInventory__06-
    05-2008_15-32-19.log"

    Result:


    There is no Interim Patch




    OPatch succeeded.
    OPatch returns with error code = 0

    E:\oracle\product\10.1.0\Db_1\OPatch>


    I have not applied any patches I applied only patchset. I have not created any database aswell.

    Thanks
  • 607104
    607104 Member Posts: 387
    I have done:

    E:\oracle\product\10.1.0\Db_1>sqlplus "/nolog"

    SQL*Plus: Release 10.1.0.5.0 - Production on Thu Jun 5 15:44:43 2008

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2005, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    Does this mean no scripts needed? can I proceed applying latest patch from metalink?

    Thanks
  • EdStevens
    EdStevens Member Posts: 28,049 Gold Crown
    I have not applied any patches I applied only
    patchset. I have not created any database aswell.

    Thanks
    The scripts are scripts of sql commands, executed in sqlplpus to update the database catalog (data dictionary). If you have not yet created a database, you have nothing against which to run the scripts, nothing to connect to.

    But here's the big caveat.....

    When you do create your database, using dbca, if you just let dbca create a database from one of its templates, that is actually an rman restore of a database at the base release level, so you would need to go back and run the update scripts against the newly created database. What I do to avoid this (and having to keep up with what patches/patchsets may have been applied), I use have dbca create a 'custom' database, and at the end, instead of actually creating the db, I just have it generate the scripts, then execute those scripts manually. Those scripts will include the execution of catalog.sql, catproc.sql, etc., which are the scripts that the patchset tells you to run against the database after upgrading the software. Since the scripts generated by dbca in this fashion are truly creating a db from scratch (CREATE DATABASE .....) the database gets created at the current patchlevel of the software.
  • Madrid
    Madrid Member Posts: 7,573
    I have done:

    E:\oracle\product\10.1.0\Db_1>sqlplus "/nolog"

    SQL*Plus: Release 10.1.0.5.0 - Production on Thu Jun
    5 15:44:43 2008

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2005, Oracle. All rights
    reserved.

    Does this mean no scripts needed? can I proceed
    applying latest patch from metalink?

    Thanks
    This doesn't mean the database has already the patchset applied, it only confirms the binaries were updated. Once you connect to a recently created database at this patchset level confirm the version from the DBA_REGISTRY view. Once you confirm you are at the same patchset level version you are done. If the database where you are connected shows at this registry you are at a lower database patchset, then the patchset must be applied against it.


    ~ Madrid

    http://hrivera99.blogspot.com/
  • 607104
    607104 Member Posts: 387
    Hi,

    I am not creating the database through DBCA or manaully.

    I am restoring and recovering the production database to this newly created database.

    What is the procedure to be on correct version(10.1.0.5)?

    Thanks
  • EdStevens
    EdStevens Member Posts: 28,049 Gold Crown
    Hi,

    I am not creating the database through DBCA or
    manaully.

    I am restoring and recovering the production database
    to this newly created database.

    What is the procedure to be on correct
    version(10.1.0.5)?

    Thanks
    I don't have the documentation for that upgrade in front of me (you do), but there should be instructions on installing the software followed by instructions on upgrading the database. Typically this involves running a few scripts named cat*.sql (catalog.sql, catproc.sql, etc). Once you have your database up, just continue with the install instructions from the point where they start working on the database, as opposed to working on the software installation.
  • Madrid
    Madrid Member Posts: 7,573
    I am not creating the database through DBCA or
    manaully.
    I am restoring and recovering the production database
    to this newly created database.
    What is the procedure to be on correct
    version(10.1.0.5)?
    Well since the database already exists and it comes from a previous 10gR1 release, then you Must upgrade it. The procedure is prettly lengthy for a simple thread or post, it is clearly and thoroughfully explained at the README companion file. As previously stated, refer to this document to start the database in upgrade mode and apply the patch by means of the upgrade script specified there.

    Once it has been upgraded check the log file to verify it has run cleanly and check the DBA_REGISTRY view to verify the upgrade.


    ~ Madrid

    http://hrivera99.blogspot.com/
  • 247514
    247514 Member Posts: 10,875 Bronze Trophy
    I am restoring and recovering the production database
    to this newly created database.

    What is the procedure to be on correct
    version(10.1.0.5)?

    Thanks
    What was your production database version? Is it 10.1.0.5

    If you have followed all procedures in README of patchset you should have an Oracle 10.1.0.5 installation ready now. sqlplus also confirmed version is 10.1.0.5
  • 607104
    607104 Member Posts: 387
    Hi,

    Yes, production database is 10.1.0.5. But it was patched 1 year back. Now I am applying the latest patch on the new server and restoring and recovering the production database to this new host and new database but same 10.1.0.5 with latest patch but old patchset.

    Thanks
  • 247514
    247514 Member Posts: 10,875 Bronze Trophy
    Before you patch the production you first need to make sure the restore database works well with this new installation.
    You also need to run opatch on original production ORACLE_HOME check if there's any interim patches applied on top of 10.1.0.5. If yes, you need to apply those before try to bring up database.

    After that, you can apply additional patches as needed.
This discussion has been closed.