• 3,758,149 Users
  • 2,251,344 Discussions
  • 7,870,066 Comments

Discussions

Oracle 11g new install - unable to login

Answers

108305 Member Posts: 1
    Thanks for posting this!

I had exactly the same problem (and was able to log in with SYS and my default install password).
    712369 Member Posts: 3
    Having same problem, still can't log in. Why doesn't the install give you an ID to log in with? All it does is ask you for a password, not associated w/ any login ID. Very confusing. And people wonder why everyone's going SQL Server!
    721111 Member Posts: 1
    hi,
    how can i get the installation executable for enterprise edition 11g. can i find just the compressed setup.exe and when that is executed ,it extract itself and create a database? can this be done?.
    835330 Member Posts: 1
    edited Jan 29, 2011 9:13PM
    Hi,
    I am very new to Oracle.
    I read this thread but getting more confused.

I completed installation of "Oracle 11g R2" on windows vista platform successfully.
    During install, installer asked for default password to use, which I entered.
    Then it asked if I wish for it to create a default database and I choose yes to that option so it created a sample database for me (its name = edm).
    Now my question is how do I login to this database using SQLPLUS?

1) What will be my user name to login?? Admin, or admin, or root or sysadmin?
    This is so confusing - other database installer "clearly" specifies the username for the database !
    Can anyone tell what should be my next step?

My requirement is very simple - I just need to create a database, then a database-user so that I can connect to it using JDBC.
    Can anyone suggest the simplest steps to achieve this in "Oracle 11g r2" ?

Thanks in advance.

=======================
    DON'T WORRY FOUND THE SOLUTION.

I have to first create/allocate a tablespace (as sysdba)
    Then create an user and GRANT all necessary permissions to that tabe space (as sysdba)