Forum Stats

• 3,872,606 Users
  • 2,266,458 Discussions
  • 7,911,262 Comments

Discussions

How to write the script in E-tester

702192 Member Posts: 15
edited May 28, 2009 9:03AM in QA/Testing
Hi i am new to e-tester. we are doing some R&D on empirix e-tester tool. We are familiar with QTP tool. we are able to record and play the script but we are unable to enhance the script.

But when i went through this threads i came to know that we can use VBA script or VB script or etc for enhancing the script. current we are using "oracle Functional Testing for web applications 8.50.0260" version.

Can any body please guide me and explain the procedure for enhancing the script and what is the use of open script.
Is it required for e-load or e-tester. pls specify me its very urgent

thanks inadvance...........pls

Best Answer

• Alex
    Alex Member Posts: 799
    Answer ✓
    Anjani

You can still add some logic in version 8.50 by using VBScript, but the editor is not great; Right Click on the step node -> select Insert Test -> Test Scriptlet , you have an API in the help files.

OpenScripit is the new scripting tool which at the moment only supports HTTP (load) scripts, but with version 9.0 it will support functional DOM testing, amongst other protocols, OpenScript has a visual script view and a java script view so you can do most of the straight forward scripts using the visual view and add the more complex logic using the java view.

Hope that helps

Alex

Answers

• Alex
    Hi

VBA was removed from e-Tester in version 8.50, and I don't think that you can download an earlier version from eDelivery, i think you can contact Oracle support and ask them for 8.40 which contains VBA.

VBA is being replaced with java and that will be available in version 9.0 out in August/September.

Regards

Alex
    Alex
    hi alex very much thank you for your reply,

means You are saying that we cannot code until 9.0 version get released. presently i am working on 8.5 version.