• 3,836,939 Users
  • 2,262,206 Discussions
  • 7,900,149 Comments

Discussions

Automatically give permission to Tables

Kodiak_Seattle
Kodiak_Seattle Member Posts: 565
edited Jul 15, 2009 12:05PM in SQL & PL/SQL
Is there a way to have permissions given to any Table that is created in my schema to my team members, automatically ? as soon as it is created ?

Oracle 10g

Thanks!
Tagged:

Answers

• Sentinel
    Sentinel Member Posts: 1,284 Silver Badge
    No but if you create a role that's assigned to your team members, you can get by with only one grant statement per object.
  • Can you give an example? I am a newbie when it comes to Roles.
  • Frank Kulash
    Frank Kulash Member, Moderator Posts: 42,208 Red Diamond
    edited Jul 14, 2009 7:16PM
    Hi,

You can write a trigger that fires after an object is created in your schema, and use dynamic SQL to grant privileges.
    See the [PL/SQL manual|http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B28359_01/appdev.111/b28370/create_trigger.htm#i2153503] for details.

Whether you write a trigger or not, using roles, as Sentinel suggested, makes a lot of sense.

Have a DBA create the role:
    CREATE ROLE  seattle_team;
    Depending on how things are done where you work, the DBA may give you administrative privileges on the role:
    GRANT  seattle_team  TO kodiak  WITH ADMIN OPTION;
    If so, you can then grant or revoke privileges to other users or roles:
    GRANT  seattle_team  TO    brown;
    GRANT  seattle_team  TO    polar;
    REVOKE seattle_team  FROM  grizzly;
    When a person joins (or leaves) the group, you only have to issue one GRANT (or REVOKE) command, no matter how many tables, views, packages, or other objects there are.
    When a new table (or other object) is created, you only have to issue one GRANT command, no matter how many people are in the group.

Edited by: Frank Kulash on Jul 14, 2009 6:59 PM
    Frank Kulash
  • Solomon Yakobson
    Solomon Yakobson Member Posts: 19,578 Red Diamond