• 3,817,367 Users
  • 2,259,322 Discussions
  • 7,893,760 Comments

Discussions

Simulating Create or Replace for Users and Roles

Colin Bowern
Colin Bowern Member Posts: 7
edited Aug 26, 2009 4:47PM in SQL & PL/SQL
I am really getting frustraited by all of the quirks in Oracle (my background is SQL Server) that are throwing me curve balls.. :) I am trying to create a procedure to enable me to create a user or role as part of a setup script. I don't want the script to stop if the user or role already exists. My first attempt based on [a StackOverflow.com post|http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1197236/create-or-replace-role] was:

CREATE OR REPLACE PROCEDURE Create_Role( role_name IN VARCHAR2 ) IS PRAGMA AUTONOMOUS_TRANSACTION;
BEGIN
EXECUTE IMMEDIATE 'CREATE ROLE'||role_name;
EXCEPTION
WHEN OTHERS THEN
-- ORA-01921: role name '%1' conflicts with another user or role name.
IF SQLCODE <> -01921 THEN
RAISE;
END IF;
END Create_Role;
/
GRANT EXECUTE ON Create_Role TO Public;

I ran into permissions issues around the dynamic execute statement for Create Role that I can't figure out why (since the calling user is the system user):

SQL Error: ORA-01031: insufficient privileges
ORA-06512: at "SYSTEM.CREATE_ROLE", line 8
01031. 00000 - "insufficient privileges"

I tried a difference approach as exceptions don't feel like they are suitable flow control in my experience:

CREATE OR REPLACE PROCEDURE Create_Role( Role_Name IN VARCHAR2 ) IS PRAGMA AUTONOMOUS_TRANSACTION;
DECLARE
Row_Count NUMBER;
BEGIN
SELECT COUNT(*) INTO Row_Count FROM DBA_Roles WHERE UPPER(Rolename) = Role_Name;
IF (Row_Count == 0) THEN
EXECUTE IMMEDIATE 'CREATE ROLE '||role_name;
END IF;
END Create_Role;
/