• 2,254,716 Discussions
  • 7,880,231 Comments

Discussions

Forcing index usage without hints

712014 Member Posts: 13
edited Dec 2, 2009 12:14PM in SQL & PL/SQL
Dear Everybody,

I am a newbie in the world of oracle.

Recently my Boss asked me one question regarding index usage.

He want to force the index to be used though the optimizer does not choose to use it.

But limitattion is that he canot touch the query or code because it is directly fired by an application whose code we cannot change.

So how can one force a query to use index without giving any hints.

It should be for particular query, it should not apply for all the indexes in the database.

I know one parameter "OPTIMIZER_INDEX_COST_ADJ". If you set this parameter properly you can force the optimizer to use the index.But it has its own limitations.

So i want an alternative to this option which can be applied only for a particular query without using hints.

As this is my first thread, sorry if i had made any mistake in posting the question

Thank you all in advance

Regards,
Navin Bandi
Tagged:

Answers

730428 Member Posts: 2,087
    Without hints and without modifying the query you cannot force the use of an index.
    The best choice is analyzing the tables involved in the query and let the cost optimizer decide..

Max
  • Himanshu Kandpal
    Himanshu Kandpal Member Posts: 1,971 Silver Badge
    Hi,

Is there a reason why you want the query to use index? It is not alway true that a index scan is efficient than a full table scan. Some times a full table scan is better that a index scan. Could you please send us the query and the explain plan.

http://www.oracle.com/technology/oramag/oracle/09-mar/o29asktom.html

http://asktom.oracle.com/pls/asktom/f?p=100:11:0::::P11_QUESTION_ID:1277166300346684168

thanks
    Thnx Max for replying to my question.