• 2,246,823 Discussions
  • 7,856,882 Comments

Discussions

Question about Factory Method pattern

Nikita.Mospan
Nikita.Mospan Member Posts: 20
edited June 2016 in New To Java

Hello all.

I started learning Java concepts by a book "Thinking in Java, 4th Edition". In the chapter about Interfaces I did not grasp the idea of the "Factory Method pattern". The pattern is described below :

"An interface is intended to be a gateway to multiple implementations, and a typical way to produce objects that fit the interface is the Factory Method design pattern. Instead of calling a constructor directly, you call a creation method on a factory object which produces an implementation of the interface."

//: interfaces/Factories.java
interface Service {
void method1();
void method2();
} //define interface that works with Classes that implement Service interface
interface ServiceFactory {
Service getService();
} class Implementation1 implements Service {
Implementation1() {}
@Override public void method1() {System.out.println("Implementation1 method1"); }
@Override public void method2() {System.out.println("Implementation1 method2"); }
} class Implementation1Factory implements ServiceFactory {
@Override public Service getService() {
  return new Implementation1();
}
} class Implementation2 implements Service {
Implementation2() {}
@Override public void method1() {System.out.println("Implementation2 method1"); }
@Override public void method2() {System.out.println("Implementation2 method2"); }
} class Implementation2Factory implements ServiceFactory {
  return new Implementation2();
}
} public class Factories {
public static void serviceConsumer(ServiceFactory fact) {
  Service s = fact.getService();
  s.method1();
  s.method2();
}

public static void main(String[] args) {
  serviceConsumer(new Implementation1Factory());
  serviceConsumer(new Implementation2Factory());
}
}

The necessity of the Factory classes is explained as