Forum Stats

• 3,757,039 Users
  • 2,251,189 Discussions
  • 7,869,698 Comments

Discussions

Maintaining data & data schema between Development vs Production?

DannyS-Oracle
DannyS-Oracle Member Posts: 165
edited Jun 16, 2017 3:54AM in APEX Discussions

Hi everyone, I am a beginner Apex developer and need some advice on how to sync between my development and production instances. I tried searching on this forum, and this has been asked before here , but there was no feedback.

So my situation is, we are planning to have two different instance of our application:

1. Development, where we do all experiment and add new features; and
  2. Production, where we put all stable features, production data, and make it accessible for our users.

We are thinking to put these two instances on different workspaces, so we can safely export and import all pages easily and separate development vs production data.

The case where I am concerned is, how to keep the data schema between the development and production workspaces in sync? Let's say I implemented some features in dev environment, where I need to make changes to certain table (e.g. adding/removing columns or triggers in Table A). How to reflect this changes automatically in the production environment? I believe I can't just export the data, replace the data schema with the one from dev, and then re-import the data because some table columns might have changed. Do I have to implement all those changes manually in the production workspace?

Please let me know if you have been in similar situation, or if you know better solution for this. Any feedback will be appreciated! I am using Apex v5.1, Oracle DB v12.

DannyS-Oracle

Answers

• TexasApexDeveloper
    TexasApexDeveloper Member Posts: 7,804 Gold Crown
    edited Jun 15, 2017 7:01PM