Forum Stats

  • 3,752,054 Users
  • 2,250,452 Discussions
  • 7,867,702 Comments

Discussions

Oracle Forms New Feature Ideas

1356713

Comments

  • JeanYves Bernier
    JeanYves Bernier Member Posts: 469 Bronze Badge
    edited Jul 2, 2020 11:33AM

    Hi  @RajeshAlex , I do exactly the same.

    Format the code in SqlDev and paste it back to form builer.

    RajeshAlexselcukuzun
  • RajeshAlex
    RajeshAlex Member Posts: 99 Red Ribbon
    edited Jul 3, 2020 10:28AM

    Mike,

    Another one I can think is Multi Select LOV

    Most modern languages has this feature.

    SUGGESTION DETAILS

    Multi Select LOV.

    WHAT VALUE WOULD THIS ADD TO APPLICATIONS OR THE PRODUCT

    Very useful for query blocks.. Right now we are limited to either one item from list of values or none.Many times search users need to select multiple values. This will be also helpful when reports are being called from forms..

    Multi Select LOV can return multiple values separated by comas

    ( If these features gets implemented add my name to it:-)

    Best Regards

    Rajesh Alex

  • Michael Ferrante-Oracle
    Michael Ferrante-Oracle Senior Principal Product Manager USMember Posts: 6,815 Employee
    edited Jul 6, 2020 9:43AM

    @RajeshAlex

    What about multi-select TLists ?

    pastedImage_0.png

    F.MatzselcukuzunMonica Ipate-Oracle
  • Edward Novillo - BEST RESOURCE S.A.
    Edward Novillo - BEST RESOURCE S.A. Member Posts: 1 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jul 7, 2020 11:52AM

    Hi Michael,

    I have a suggestion not directly related to Forms Builder, but is part of it on local runtime mode.... that's why I'm sending it..

    SUGGESTION DETAILS

    Hide messages related to WEBLOGIC on  running localy (my PC/laptop), or even better sending to Java Console

    WHAT VALUE WOULD THIS ADD TO APPLICATIONS OR THE PRODUCT

    During development work (coding, testing, fixing issues, etc) we usually open, close, maximize or minimize several windows, but keeping open/minimized those windows related to Weblogic starting/working is not necessary.  Saving all in a log file, or showing into the Java Console could be better.

    What would be the value?... I would say give us a cleaner environment on Developement time on Windows, without those console windows

    gregga
  • marussig
    marussig Member Posts: 443 Bronze Badge
    edited Jul 9, 2020 7:56AM

    1) Last 20 years you did nothing on upload files, spaghetti with webutil still exists.

    2) Ask guys at APEX how to offer Forms in the cloud of the third party and not Oracle cloud.

    3) Ask Google how to manipulate Google Maps.

    4) Find someone who will move Forms runtime to mobile.

    5) Try to understand that 30 years after the first Report we still need Report.

    6) Few cents of investment in youngsters will help us manage sustainable development.

    Yours sincerely,

    me, APEX, and Forms&Reports

    selcukuzunRichard Harrisonbeansgregga
  • User_B1GFR
    User_B1GFR Member Posts: 1 Green Ribbon
    edited Jul 12, 2020 7:22AM

    Today the value property of an item can be a formule.

    A hughe developers benefit could be introduced when ALL properties could be formulas.

    For example

    The visible property of an item is set determined by a boolean expression.
    item employee.salary
    Visible =   (employee.rank not in ('MANAGER','CEO'))

    For example
    A button enabled property
    Enabled = ( system.record_status = 'QUERY' and employee.status = 'IN SERVICE')

    eliasfm
  • RajeshAlex
    RajeshAlex Member Posts: 99 Red Ribbon
    edited Jul 13, 2020 8:24AM

    Is it part of the standard forms or java bean ? Does it allow  data to be filtered before display?

    And which version is this available ?

    Rajesh Alex

  • Michael Ferrante-Oracle
    Michael Ferrante-Oracle Senior Principal Product Manager USMember Posts: 6,815 Employee
    edited Jul 13, 2020 10:01AM

    @RajeshAlex,

    The example I shared was just a mock-up and does not currently exist in any Forms version.  I was merely sharing it as a possibility, asking you if something like that would accommodate the use-case you had in mind.

    Multi-select LOVs will not likely be feasible, however it may be possible to do what I proposed as a mock-up.

    Richard Harrison
  • RajeshAlex
    RajeshAlex Member Posts: 99 Red Ribbon
    edited Jul 20, 2020 8:46AM

    Mike,

    End users like a checkbox type multi select list (similar to what BI Publisher has) in order to run the report from forms or for the block

    search criteria fields. Right now forms has either give  one value for the field or no value for the field for search. Many users like to

    search for 2 values  or more in the same field .

      I am sure this is an easy thing.  Return the selected values in a comma separated string.

    Best Regards

    Rajesh Alex