• 3,751,226 Users
  • 2,250,333 Discussions
  • 7,867,348 Comments

Discussions

Why "an INTO clause is expected in this SELECT statement"

Dee102
Dee102 Member Posts: 42 Green Ribbon

Hello,

I have been a SQL Server developer for couple decades and recently started working on Oracle PL SQL. I have a simple query with a simple question. Maybe you can explain to me why I got that error, so I will understand the concept.Thanks.

declare p_start_dt date := '01-Jun-20'; 

p_end_dt date := '30-Jun-20';

BEGIN

SELECT *

FROM Table  

WHERE date1 <= p_start_dt 

and date2 >= p_end_dt;  

END;

Best Answer

Answers

• Dear DBA Frank
    Dear DBA Frank Member Posts: 166 Bronze Badge

Hello

I'm afraid you did not include your error. Also always mention the database edition and version (example: Oracle EE 12.2) please.

• Dee102
    edited Jan 20, 2021 5:00PM

Oracle SQL Developer 19.2.1.247

PLS-00428: an INTO clause is expected in this SELECT statement

06550. 00000 - "line %s, column %s:\n%s"

*Cause:  Usually a PL/SQL compilation error.

• Dear DBA Frank
    Dear DBA Frank Member Posts: 166 Bronze Badge

It seems to be a syntax error. I'm not sure what you're trying to do, whether your SQL code is meant to retrieve some data for your PL/SQL code or if you mean to EXECUTE some SQL, but look at this example that showcases both:

DECLARE

c INT;

BEGIN

SELECT COUNT(*)  INTO c  FROM USER_CONSTRAINTS  WHERE constraint_name = 'FK_LRE_COM'; -- here i'm putting the result of count(*) into the "c" variable

IF c                 = 1 THEN

dbms_output.put_line('DROP FK FK_LRE_COM');

EXECUTE immediate 'ALTER TABLE SRM_LIEU_REALISATION DROP CONSTRAINT FK_LRE_COM'; -- here I'm executing some SQL code inside this PL/SQL block

END IF;

END;

/

Dee102
  • Dee102

But I didn't want to insert into a variable. I just want to select the data for that date ranges.

• Dee102

Thank you. I am still absorbing.

• mathguy
    mathguy Member Posts: 9,982 Gold Crown

Odd thing...