Forum Stats

• 3,752,108 Users
  • 2,250,460 Discussions
  • 7,867,716 Comments

Discussions

How could I write a trigger to get the sum of values held in a different form?

User_6OSDL
User_6OSDL Member Posts: 4 Green Ribbon
edited Mar 30, 2021 6:37PM in SQL & PL/SQL

I'm new to PL/SQL and Oracle Form Builder so, pardon my ignorance. I have three relations DEBTOR, LIST and REGISTRATION. I have described these below:

DEPTOR- debtorID (PK) | firstname | surname | address | postcode

LIST- dCode (PK) | name | fee | description |

REGISTRATION- regID (PK) | debtorID* | dCode* | approvedBy

I have a non-database item called DEBT_FEE which display LIST.fee on my REGISTRATION form. I used a WHEN-NEW-ITEM-INSTANCE trigger to do this.

DECLARE
     V_FEE NUMBER(5, 2);
BEGIN
     SELECT FEE INTO V_FEE FROM LIST
     WHERE :REGISTRATION.DCODE = MODULE.DCODE;

:DEBT_FEE:= V_FEE;
END;

I was wondering how I could do something similar to get the sum of all the debts the current debtor owes. Any help would be appreciated.

Tagged:

Answers

• Frank Kulash
    Frank Kulash Member, Moderator Posts: 40,923 Red Diamond

Hi,

Welcome to the Forum! Or rather: Welcome to the Forums, plural, since there are several. There's the SQL and PL/SQL forum, where you posted this question, and then there the Oracle Forms forum

Unfortunately, it's not always clear which forum is the best place for a given question, and it's wrong to post the same question in different places. Let's assume this really is a PL/SQL question, even though you happened to be using Oracle Forms when the problem came up.

You already know the way to get a single fee using PL/SQL, that is:

SELECT  fee
    INTO 	v_fee
    FROM 	list
    WHERE  :registration.dcode = module.dcode;

That gets the value of one fee. If, for some reason, you wanted to get the total of all fees, you could use the aggregate SUM function, like this:

SELECT  SUM (fee)
    INTO 	v_fee
    FROM 	list;