Forum Stats

  • 3,874,324 Users
  • 2,266,719 Discussions
  • 7,911,813 Comments

Discussions

No IP address returned for the host. error.

Eslam_Elbyaly
Eslam_Elbyaly Member Posts: 4,450 Silver Trophy

Hi, I am using Oracle db 18c XE, with windows 7 x64.

When I try to setup the database, after some time, after the wizard has displayed "configuring Oracle Software" or something, the universal installer rolls back everything and a screen says "Setup finished with errors". I opened the log files in ......cfgtoollogs> netca folder. One of them is called netca_OraDB18Home...... . At the end of the file, it says "Oracle net service configuration failed. The exit code is 1". The other file is "trace_OraDB18Home....." and at the end it says, "No IP address returned for the host". What could be the reason for the setup not finishing?

Answers

  • Billy Verreynne
    Billy Verreynne Software Engineer Member Posts: 28,945 Red Diamond

    Sounds like the installer attempted to resolve your Windows platform's hostname to an IP address and failed.

    What is the primary IP of your platform? Is it DHCP? If so, what assigns the IPs (home router/VPN/etc) and hostname? (use ipconfig to check IP configuration).

    If the db installation part succeeded, then getting the Listener working should be trivial. Is the Oracle XE database instance up and running, and can you connect to it using "sqlplus / as sysdba"?

    Eslam_Elbyaly
  • Eslam_Elbyaly
    Eslam_Elbyaly Member Posts: 4,450 Silver Trophy

    I am sorry. It does not say "Configuring Listener", it says "Configuring Oracle Software". I edited the question.

    No sqlplus or any binaries. It's just about 4 folders. Each with a couple of files.

    my pc is not connected to a router or anything. I just installed the Lan driver.

    ipconfig just shows "media disconnected".

    I tried assigning an IP manually but did not work. I even opened the "hosts" file and added a new line with the manual IP I assigned like this.... "192.168.1.1 localhost" without quotes. Always the same problem.

  • Billy Verreynne
    Billy Verreynne Software Engineer Member Posts: 28,945 Red Diamond

    Do NOT set other addresses as localhost.

    What is your platform's NetBIOS name? Typically the same name is used as IP hostname.

    A "ping <hostname>" should work. If not then it is unlikely that Oracle will work correctly.

    You can try adding your hostname to IP 127.0.0.1 in \windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts (think that's the location). No idea however how your kernel's networking in general will react to it. So undo it in case of encountering errors.

    The 127.0.0.0 subnet is yours though. You can look at adding IPs to it for local only hosts and networking via the IP stack's loopback interface.

    Recommendation however is a working LAN config.

    Eslam_Elbyaly
  • Eslam_Elbyaly
    Eslam_Elbyaly Member Posts: 4,450 Silver Trophy


    Do NOT set other addresses as localhost.

    There was not any addresses set in the hosts file. All are commented like this...

    #127.0.0.1 localhost

    #::1 localhost

    ping localhost returns.....

    reply from ::1: time<1ms

    reply from ::1: time<1ms

    reply from ::1: time<1ms

    reply from ::1: time<1ms

    I tried adding 127.0.0.1 localhost and ahmed-PC(my computers name) to the hosts file with no vain.


  • Billy Verreynne
    Billy Verreynne Software Engineer Member Posts: 28,945 Red Diamond

    Your hosts file should look as follows:

    127.0.0.1 localhost 
    ::1       ip6-localhost ip6-loopback 
    fe00::0   ip6-localnet 
    ff00::0   ip6-mcastprefix 
    ff02::1   ip6-allnodes 
    ff02::2   ip6-allrouters
    

    You can try adding your PC name to 127.0.0.1:

    127.0.0.1  localhost ahmed-pc
    

    However, you should instead define a network interface with a private address such as 192.168.0.11/24.

    Eslam_Elbyaly
  • Eslam_Elbyaly
    Eslam_Elbyaly Member Posts: 4,450 Silver Trophy
    edited Jul 27, 2021 6:10AM

    unfortunately, I figured out that it needs a network specialist or something. I dropped windows 7 and installed windows 8.1 and the database was installed successfully. Thanks Billy for your help.

  • Billy Verreynne
    Billy Verreynne Software Engineer Member Posts: 28,945 Red Diamond

    You should consider dropping Windows entirely for Linux.

    And despite the vaccine jab, I still prefer Linux and don't like Gates and Windows. My 5G reception though is now excellent. 😁

  • Billy Verreynne
    Billy Verreynne Software Engineer Member Posts: 28,945 Red Diamond
    edited Jul 27, 2021 7:53AM

    I prefer Ubuntu with KDE, called Kubuntu. Ubuntu has excellent device support for laptops and desktops (am using it for both). Plasma KDE is the best desktop GUI.

    Been using Kubuntu now for over a decade for Oracle database development and administration and support. Am using Oracle InstantClient (with sqlplus) and SQL-Developer on it. Been using Linux as a desktop for over 20 years.

    Oracle however does not support the Debian branch for their db server s/w - they use the Redhat branch. Oracle XE 10g works on Ubuntu, but XE 18c does not.

    So I use vagrant on Kubuntu - git clone https://github.com/oracle/vagrant-projects

    This has vagrant builds for everything from Oracle RAC, DataGuard, GoldenGate, to Oracle XE.

    Change dir to ./vagrant-projects/OracleDatabase/18.4.0.-XE and run vagrant up. Some minutes later you have an Oracle Linux 7 VM running an Oracle XE 18c database.

    Eslam_Elbyaly
  • Billy Verreynne
    Billy Verreynne Software Engineer Member Posts: 28,945 Red Diamond
    edited Jul 27, 2021 10:22AM

    Oh yeah - alternatives to the typical Windows user s/w stack:

    MS Office replaced with Libre (Open) Office. Outlook replaced by Web Outlook. MS Teams Linux version used, or the web-based Teams can be used. Zoom supports Linux. KDE Konsole instead of Putty. Chrome/Firefox instead of Edge/IE11.

    No anti-virus needed. And your laptop/desktop will be untouched in a ransome ware attack.

    Tons of free Open Source s/w available.

    Freedom to choose and configure and install and upgrade.

    edit: PS. and OpenConnect for VPN access instead of Cisco AnyConnect.

    Eslam_Elbyaly