• 7,904,906 Comments

Discussions

Want to learn PLSQL

User_5ZUSJ
User_5ZUSJ Member Posts: 1 Green Ribbon
edited Jul 25, 2022 6:43AM in SQL & PL/SQL

Hi,

Greentings!!

I am new to Software explored few options in SQL through w3schools. Can anyone please suggest on the best site/guide to explore hands on experience in PLSQL.

Thanks in advance

cheers

Answers

• BluShadow
    BluShadow Member, Moderator Posts: 42,311 Red Diamond

This community is probably the best site to learn and practice real-world PL/SQL coding.

There are many websites out there that will proclaim to give you PL/SQL lessons etc. but many are either a) full of mistakes or b) just give examples that are not real-world coding issues or c) just use poor code examples that are not best practice (i.e. written by amateurs) or d) any combination of the previous.

Personally I would recommend doing Oracle's own course for the fundamentals of the language...

and then practice at solving real world issues by looking at what people ask on this community and having a go yourself, whilst learning from the solutions the existing experts give.

Myself, when I came to learn PL/SQL, I already had experience of other databases (Ingres, Sybase, Cobol) and programming languages that work with them (ABF, Forms, PowerBuilder, Cobol etc.), as well as other non-database languages before that, but even though I had a reference manual for PL/SQL (Steven Feuerstein's book is very good reference) I still attended Oracle University (in person) to do their PL/SQL Fundamentals and PL/SQL Advanced course) and that allowed me to apply my previous coding knowledge to the different syntax and understand many of the best practices and approaches to coding it. Then, being on this community, having a go at solving other people's issues and doing my own job, and reading the documentation and trying things, have all contributed to my growing knowledge... and I'm still learning new stuff now.