Forum Stats

• 3,876,211 Users
  • 2,267,082 Discussions
  • 7,912,470 Comments

Discussions

How to navigate to navigate to another jsff page and then execute a method

User_Q9C3J
User_Q9C3J Member Posts: 21 Green Ribbon

Hello, my JDeveloper version is Studio Edition Version 12.2.1.4.0 and I am relatively new to all of this, so please bear with me.

Basically, I want to navigate from one .jsff view to another .jsff view and then execute a function from a managed bean immediately.

My setup: on the first .jsff view there is an af:table with a certain column containing links. If I click on a link in one row, I want to navigate to another .jsff view, open up a specific af:showDetailItem in an af:panelTabbed, and select a certain row in the af:table inside this af:showDetailItem that corresponds to the row I clicked in the first .jsff view.

I know it is built into the task flow framework to allow a method call and then a switch to a view, but I need the other way around because this method needs to be able to interact with the components on the second page (opening a tab and selecting a row in the table).

I looked around a lot online and a lot of people reference https://blogs.oracle.com/aramamoo/entry/an_epic_question_how_to in response to similar questions, but it seems this article is no longer active or I do not have access to it. I also have read it is possible to navigate to a view and then have an invisible field in the UI have a 'rendered' property that will call a function in the bean and you can execute your functionality there. I was wondering if there is a more standard way to solve this that is more built into the framework. If I am also going about this the wrong way, please let me know.

If anyone has encountered something similar, any help would be appreciated.

--Scott M.

Best Answer

• User_Q9C3J
    Answer ✓

I solved this.