• 2,266,682 Discussions
  • 7,911,769 Comments

Discussions

View Object not updating when there is changes in DB

User_7TK0D
User_7TK0D Member Posts: 11 Green Ribbon

Hello,

I need some help.

I'm a newbie and I'm using JDeveloper 12.2.1.4.0.

Why the VO is not fetching the changes in Database?

I tried to update the status from NEW to PENDING in Database

But the changes is still not reflecting in UI Page

I already set the VO to auto-refresh = true but it is still not working

Thanks

Tagged:

Best Answers

• Eric v.M.
    Eric v.M. Member Posts: 25 Bronze Badge
    Answer ✓

Before getting lost in Auto Refresh and Active Data features, have a look at the basics:

In the screenshot you posted I see an update statement. However, I don't see any commit statement. Maybe the sql tooling you're using operates in some auto-commit mode, I don't know. But if not, your change is not committed and will not be visible in any other session at all.

• dvohra21
    dvohra21 Member Posts: 14,691 Gold Crown
    Answer ✓

Is auto commit not selected? Select Tools>Preferences. In the Preferences dialog, select Database>Advanced, and select the Autocommit checkbox if not already selected.

Answers

• Timo Hahn
    Timo Hahn Senior Principal Technical Consultant - Oracle ACE Director Member, Moderator Posts: 38,919 Red Diamond

A change in the DB will only be visible in the app when you execute the query behind the VO again. A simple refresh or auto-refresh will not do as the db will not trigger any update to the sessions using the table.

There is something named ActiveData that should implement your use case, but to my knowledge, it's not a good solution (if it's working at all).

The question is why do you need this use case at all? The framework will notify the user that the row has changed in the db and you try to change the same row in the app and try to save it to the db.