• 3,874,065 Users
  • 2,266,670 Discussions
  • 7,911,715 Comments

Discussions

Authenticate users using Active directory in adf

Mohammed Jahangir
Mohammed Jahangir Member Posts: 125 Blue Ribbon

hello Everyone,

I am new to adf, my requirement is to create an ADF application and authenticate users by Active directory/ windows login credentials. Could you please guide me how to achieve my requirement.

waiting for your response.

Thanks

Tagged:

Answers

• Timo Hahn
    Timo Hahn Senior Principal Technical Consultant - Oracle ACE Director Member, Moderator Posts: 38,913 Red Diamond

User, tell us your exact JDev version, please!

To authenticate users, you use an authentication provider on your Server (WeblogicServer). This isn't a problem of ADF. ADF security wraps authentication and authorization using some simple API. You don't have to do anything in your app but to enable security.

Look at this older post https://community.oracle.com/tech/developers/discussion/4064856/how-to-integrate-adf-with-windows-active-directory that points you to the solution.

Tim Hall prodided an WSLT script to configure AD in WLS at https://oracle-base.com/articles/web/wlst-configure-active-directory-authentication

Timo

• Mohammed Jahangir
    edited Sep 13, 2022 7:10AM

Thanks Timo,

I am using Jdeveloper version - 12.2.1.3.0,

1. My requirement is in my application I have login form, I have to authenticate users from Active directory.
    2. How can I know that user is authenticated and get his user name in login bean.
    3. Once user is authenticated, I need to check whether user has privileges to access application.
    4. what changes I have to make in my adf application

Kindly guide me.

I will go thorough the blogs, hopefully my requirement will be fulfilled. If there is anything then I will get back to discussion.

Thanks

• dvohra21
    dvohra21 Member Posts: 14,691 Gold Crown