• 2,262,343 Discussions
  • 7,900,552 Comments

Discussions

ADF - Mobile Dev Question - BB MobileClient vs ViewController

jstem1177
jstem1177 Member Posts: 371
edited Sep 10, 2010 10:28AM in JDeveloper and ADF
Hello All,

I'm really new to to ADF and Mobile Developement and have gone through a few of the introductory tutorials and I have a simple question.
I noticed that when I create a project (goal is to deploy on BB), the tutorials show that you use a Mobile Client for the UI and Model for the the app itself.
I then went through a tutorial which uses the ViewControl, and generates the JSF pages, and has some really amazing UI components.

So here is the question. I terms of deployment, and let me precise that I need mobile server sync, must i stick to basic MobileClient + Model or can I go with Model+ViewController. What is the major difference? Is it that the basic one use the the BB java platform where is the ViewController uses the built in browser as the container for my app.

Thanks in advance for links, responses, explanations.

Jan
Tagged:

Answers

• jstem1177
    Hello All,

Can anybody answer this question? I'm really new to this and would just like to be clear on whether the same sync and mobile server is available when I develop using a a ViewController, versus simple Mobile UI ?

Thanks

Jan
  • Frank Nimphius-Oracle
    Frank Nimphius-Oracle Member Posts: 29,689 Bronze Badge
    Hi,

if you choose the Fusion template to create the ViewController project, then by default this is set up to use ADF Faces rich client components, which don't work on mobiles. If you want to support mobile deviced then either you use the mobile client or Trinidad components in a web project.

Here's the mobile developer guide, which makes things clearer

http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/E15523_01/web.1111/e10140/toc.htm

Frank
  • jstem1177
    Thanks a lot Frank.

This link is very very helpful.

Jan
  • lucbors
    lucbors Member Posts: 326 Bronze Badge
    Hi Jan,