Forum Stats

• 3,872,124 Users
  • 2,266,390 Discussions
  • 7,911,052 Comments

Discussions

readability

843793 Member Posts: 41,732 Green Ribbon
edited May 13, 2003 6:14PM in Generics
I would like some peoples comments on the readability of the Generic implementation in Java.

I have a lot of experience with templates in C++ and find that most non-trivial template classes quickly become completely unreadable by humans. Anyone who's browsed through the STL will whole-heartedly attest to this.

It's so bad that you can't even tell what methods each class has, and what they take as parameters. E.g. from algorithm, it even seems like a herculean task to figure out where the class begins and ends!

I could post some of the code here, but it's so bad that surely some would think that it's a joke. So, how does Java readability compare?

Comments

So far, I haven't seen any problem with the readability of Java's generics. Since I've never seen inside the STL, perhaps you could post a sample to show what you mean?
    Since all Java classes inherit from Object and the current Collection set is using Object, it shouldn't be as messy. In c++ they have lots of methods to do different things because of the possibilities. In java we are really just concerned about converting Object to something more specific, thats straightforward.
    I agree. It's reasonable want to write Matrix not ArrayList<ArrayList<Float>>.

At the end of the JSR-14 spec I remember they proposed adding some kind of typedef-like syntax, just for giving a class an alternative name. I can't find it now so maybe they've dropped the idea. Something like this:
    class Matrix ArrayList<ArrayList<Float>>

Presumably you could simulate this by inheritance:
    class Matrix extends ArrayList<ArrayList<Float>> {
    }

Or would this have some bad implications?