• 3,874,160 Users
  • 2,266,675 Discussions
  • 7,911,745 Comments

Discussions

is Generics in Java the same as Templates in C++

793927 Member Posts: 61
edited Aug 28, 2002 12:20PM in Generics
Hi,
i am new to java, and i am wondering if generic classes the same as Templates in C++ ?
where can i get specific info from the site about how to use them ?
thanks

Comments

843793 Member Posts: 41,732 Green Ribbon
    I've never used C++, but I gather that the syntax is similar, but the main differences are i) GJ doesn't allow you to use primitive types, because they're not objects; ii) GJ only produces one chunk of code, rather than one per type of object used in the template.
    The answer is no. They address the same issue, and have similar looking syntax, but there are a lot of differences.

Basically, C++ Templates sucked. They generated a lot of bogus code, were't as reusable as they could be, and many of the implementations in compilers were buggy.

In typical Java fashion, Sun have cleaned up a lot of the problems, taken a much more dynamic and type-safe approach, while still using approximately the same syntax just to make C++ people feel comfortable.
  • jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias
    jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias Member Posts: 24,877 Gold Badge
    The answer is no. They address the same issue, and
    have similar looking syntax, but there are a lot of
    differences.

Basically, C++ Templates sucked. They generated a lot
    of bogus code,
    Not quite sure what this means. There are implicit and explicit template generation. The code has to be generated somewhere, so the fact that it is generated can't be the cause for that comment. And since it only generated exactly what the programmer specified how would that be "bogus"?

The reason that implicit vs explicit generation is needed has to do with linking and not with C++. Linking is outside of the domain of C++ but it still has to be dealt with by the compiler in some fashion.