This site is currently read-only as we are migrating to Oracle Forums for an improved community experience. You will not be able to initiate activity until January 31st, when you will be able to use this site as normal.

Forum Stats

• 3,890,795 Users
  • 2,269,776 Discussions
  • 7,916,827 Comments

Discussions

Should I strive for 11g or 12c certification(s)?

TonyTime
TonyTime Member Posts: 31

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting and I wanted to get some insight on whether I should strive for Oracle 11g or 12c certs. I just got a DBA internship at a large company that is using 11g and I'm not sure whether they're planning on upgrading at any time soon. Although, for the best of me I'm kind of leaning towards 12c. I'd like to get your input whether I make the decision of sticking with 11g or moving to 12c. If you need anymore insight from me please let me know. I'm looking forward to this discussion!

7c60198f-5edc-4cfd-8201-26d5ff80561bHemant K ChitaleRigoberto

Best Answer

• sysassysdba
    sysassysdba SPAINMember Posts: 459 Silver Badge
    edited Jun 24, 2015 5:02PM Answer ✓

hello 2978139, Sorry , I don´t mean start form oracle8i and upgrades to ,9i --> 10g ( this is my certification path...from 2003 until now!!!) ..Today, you only can start from 11g and upgrade to 12c. I think that it is the best way by now, if you really want to learn how oracle (11g and 12c) works.

Regards and good lock with your certifications.

Answers

• Matthew Morris
    Matthew Morris Database Engineer / Author Orlando, FloridaMember Posts: 1,880
    edited Jun 24, 2015 11:41AM

A little over two years ago, I wrote an article about picking 11g vs 12c when choosing a DBA certification path. Looking back at that article now, it is sadly dated and I really need to create a follow-on post.  The post brings up four points, but only the final two have any relevance today.

Oracle Certification Prep: Should I Get Certified as an Oracle 11G DBA or as a 12c DBA?