Forum Stats

  • 3,708,095 Users
  • 2,240,957 Discussions
  • 7,840,037 Comments

Discussions

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Concern copying the query from database editor tool to the discussion comment

Dear Oracle concerned,

Kindly be informed that we have small concern post the July 31 upgrade... not posting the same under the thread created for the same as the same is quiet overly polluted already..

A small concern faced.. while copying the query created in database editor tool (don't know of any other tool having issue other than TOAD, used here ).. not all but some like TOAD.. the data copied is not coming completely.. its getting partly truncated..

issue was there prior to the July 31 upgrade but not this severe..

Earlier if there happens to be a.. say like a statement like this..

WITH TEMP AS

(

....

then the '(' will be truncated which was resolved by noting that on addition of the '(' to same line.. that is like this..

WITH TEMP AS(

would resolve it

but currently issue is like say I type the following query in TOAD.. (just a simple example only)

pastedImage_0.png

while copying to comment section I get something like this..

LEVEL FROM DUAL CONNECT BY LEVEL<=10

worse case scenarios occur with large queries..

Know that copying the same to notepad will resolve the issue..

But the formatting done in the editor will be lost.. that was why..

it will be useful to share some formatted code than a plain unformatted code rytee..

Thanks and Regards,

Vysakh Suresh

Vysakh Suresh - 3035408

Best Answer

  • Chitrasai1-OracleChitrasai1-Oracle Posts: 1,534
    edited September 2016 Accepted Answer

    Vysakh Suresh - 3035408

    I apologize for the inconvenience.

    Yes I agree editor issue was there before upgrade and unfortunately still exists after upgrade.

    Our team is working out on what best can be done in this.

    Vysakh Suresh - 3035408Vysakh Suresh - 3035408

Answers

  • Manu.Manu. Posts: 3,949 Bronze Crown
    edited September 2016

    Dear,

    I tried the same query and other large query also, but for me the full script pasted properly. Now what I feel is that before the update, if there was a tab character present, then the editor was changing the pasted content in to a table. But now, that issue is not there.

    Manu.

    Vysakh Suresh - 3035408
  • Chitrasai1-OracleChitrasai1-Oracle Posts: 1,534
    edited September 2016

    Hi Vysakh Suresh - 3035408

    Is your question  related to database product?Or are you talking in general  about editor copy paste issue?

  • Vysakh Suresh - 3035408Vysakh Suresh - 3035408 Posts: 1,239 Gold Badge
    edited September 2016

    Dear @Chitra -Oracle,

    Was referring about the editor copy paste issue..

    Thanks and Regards,

    Vysakh Suresh

  • Chitrasai1-OracleChitrasai1-Oracle Posts: 1,534
    edited September 2016 Accepted Answer

    Vysakh Suresh - 3035408

    I apologize for the inconvenience.

    Yes I agree editor issue was there before upgrade and unfortunately still exists after upgrade.

    Our team is working out on what best can be done in this.

    Vysakh Suresh - 3035408Vysakh Suresh - 3035408
  • Vysakh Suresh - 3035408Vysakh Suresh - 3035408 Posts: 1,239 Gold Badge
    edited September 2016

    Dear @Chitra -Oracle,

    nice to know the same is a known issue and Oracle is working for it.. closing the thread..

    Thanks and Regards,

    Vysakh Suresh

  • Vysakh Suresh - 3035408Vysakh Suresh - 3035408 Posts: 1,239 Gold Badge
    edited September 2016

    thanks @Dude! .. went through the same.. currently don't face same.. but is a helpful piece of support..

This discussion has been closed.