Forum Stats

  • 3,741,278 Users
  • 2,248,404 Discussions
  • 7,861,717 Comments

Discussions

Platform performance

EdStevens
EdStevens Member Posts: 28,243 Gold Crown

Just got off the MOSC forum where I experienced some more maddening issues. Tried to post a message that had some rather lengthy content to be formatted as code, in three sections. First section went OK, but when I selected the second section, the paragraph icon was inactive to select the format menu. And while I was puzzling over that, this popped up:

I eventually gave up, deleted the yet-to-be-formatted content, posted what was left. And got a Captcha to confirm. First time I've seen that here,

And in another posting, with just a very modest amount of content formatted as code, I got the above, plus this, at the bottom left of the screen.

But no matter how many times I hit "Post Discussion", nothing happend. I had to cancel and start again.

«1

Comments

  • EdStevens
    EdStevens Member Posts: 28,243 Gold Crown

    Just as a follow up, I just spent 30 minutes trying to write a simple post with a couple of blocks of tagged code. Kept getting the 'web page is slowing down your browser', After 10 minutes, I'm still waiting on it to respond to a click on 'post comment' button (it's running on a different machine than where I am writing this).

    Andrew Watkins
  • JeanYves Bernier
    JeanYves Bernier Member Posts: 462 Bronze Badge

    Hi, the same for me here about 30 min to post a thread, hereby the comment I put in my post

    Note : it's really painful to post a thread in this new forum !!! it takes so much time...pasting code is also quite difficult (did not found a syntax option) and you are always clicking on "save draft" being afraid to lost all you have typed before..

    Really not a success for me, and waiting for major improvements by Oracle.


  • Paulzip
    Paulzip Member Posts: 8,370 Blue Diamond
    edited Dec 19, 2020 3:28AM

    This bug STILL hasn't been addressed. In a thread with large number of replies and content, it just hangs for long periods as it auto-saves - which is frequently. It hammers the CPU too. It makes the site unusable, you simply cannot edit anything. It's poor implementation to be honest.

    @Jim Finch-Oracle Any news on a fix for this? I'm sure many of us reported this in October time.

  • Jim Finch-Oracle
    Jim Finch-Oracle Member Posts: 564 Employee

    It's reported to the vendor and to the dev teams. They're tracking down fixes but due to the random nature of it, it's hard to duplicate/find the cause of. I will pass new reports on to them. Hopefully, we'll hear something after the holidays when everyone has full teams again.

    Best,

    Jim Finch

    Community Experience Manager

    System Admin

  • Paulzip
    Paulzip Member Posts: 8,370 Blue Diamond

    I'm surprised by that, as I see it pretty much every time I reply to a largish thread with quotes or code blocks.

    Try replying to this thread

  • Jim Finch-Oracle
    Jim Finch-Oracle Member Posts: 564 Employee

    I did and it went through instantly. That's the problem. We can't replicate it on a consistent basis.

    I'm out in the country with the world's worst DSL, I'm on an old i5 and I don't get anything anyone describes in their bug reports.

    However, I am passing it on to the folks who are in charge of fixing it.

    Best,

    Jim Finch

    Community Experience Manager

    System Admin

  • Paulzip
    Paulzip Member Posts: 8,370 Blue Diamond

    It will with a short "this is a test". You need to stay on the post page after writing several longish replies.

  • mathguy
    mathguy Member Posts: 9,840 Gold Crown
    edited Dec 23, 2020 3:50AM

    To replicate what we are reporting - go to that thread (for example) and pretend that you are thinking about what you are typing. After two or three medium-sized paragraphs (and, say, a few minutes it takes you to think about what you are typing - the typing itself is not where most of the time goes) you will see the site acting up.

    From my own observation (even in that thread!) it's even worse if you go to your front-end to the database, copy some code or an output (or both), paste in your reply in the thread, format it... While you are going through these steps, at some point you get that warning and you wait and wait and wait and.....

    This seems to happen more in the longer threads (which sometimes, alas, includes the more interesting ones), in the later replies. It seems that all the participants to such threads have the same issue, so you will likely be able to replicate too - if you behave the same way an actual thread participant does. (Which is almost never "type something in a few seconds and hit Post Comment" - I believe that's why you can't replicate.) What you CAN get away with, and some of us are actually doing that, but it's flat-out ridiculous, is to type the whole message (including code etc.) in an external editor, then copy everything and dump it in a Reply on this forum, and hit Post Comment as fast as we can. I did that in the thread Paul pointed you to; I won't do it again, I'll find a better forum (or I won't).

    Best wishes, - mathguy

  • Jim Finch-Oracle
    Jim Finch-Oracle Member Posts: 564 Employee

    Thanks for your suggestions, Mathguy. Great minds think alike! Myself and Leigh (my associate), had both already tested through the methodology you've suggested and cleaned up our mess (other than the one post we left for the devs to show exactly how much it took to replicate the issue). We've put it in the dev teams hands from here.

    Best,

    Jim Finch

    Community Experience Manager

    System Admin

  • Paulzip
    Paulzip Member Posts: 8,370 Blue Diamond

    Any news on resolution of this insidious issue @Jim Finch-Oracle ?

    I find it almost incomprehensible that your devs / vendor and QA team can't reliably replicate this. As I experience it so often, as to make me not want to bother with the site. It's an extremely poor user experience to say the least, and I can understand why many of my friends have now dropped the site in favour of Stackoverflow.

    When you are trying to type a sentence in a reply to a longish thread with quoted sections in, and you have to wait a minute every few sentences whilst the site causes your CPU to max out to 100%, or browser to say it is not responsive or has crashed whilst autosaving, you start to wonder "why I am bothering?"

  • Jim Finch-Oracle
    Jim Finch-Oracle Member Posts: 564 Employee

    I don't have an update at this time, but I have escalated it again and will update when I have something.

    Best,

    Jim Finch

    Community Experience Manager

    System Admin

  • mathguy
    mathguy Member Posts: 9,840 Gold Crown

    @Jim Finch-Oracle


    After a pause of a few months, this issue is happening again (since this morning, U.S. Pacific time). "This issue" being very long waits while the website "saves" what I have typed so far.


    One year's seeds, seven years' weeds... right?

  • Leigh.Burke-Oracle
    Leigh.Burke-Oracle Community Experience Manager Posts: 258 Employee

    @mathguy

    As Jim noted we worked with our dev team and did discover one issue with some scripts that was causing a delay which we fixed, however nothing has changed recently with our scripts or anything else we can think of that would cause the delay again. I have reached out to our devs and they are not able to reproduce so they are working with the vendor directly to try and determine what might be causing issues.

    Can you please provide any additional information - is this happening with all posts, only comments vs initial posts, only on posts that take more than x minutes to reply or that seem to be longer, have code blocks, anything that might help us reproduce and get to the bottom of the issue would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Leigh

    Community Experience Manager

  • Paulzip
    Paulzip Member Posts: 8,370 Blue Diamond
    edited May 10, 2021 2:35PM

    @Leigh.Burke-Oracle I'm seeing the same issue as @mathguy and it returned the other day, after it being far less frequent.

    I'm convinced it's due to how quoted text functionality is implemented, which in my opinion is implemented quite idiotically. Try quoting a load of text and in a reply quote the previous reply (which contains the quote). Do that a few times with other replies, so you create recursive like quotes - which can be huge. Stick some code blocks in as well as this seems to exacerbate the issue.

  • Leigh.Burke-Oracle
    Leigh.Burke-Oracle Community Experience Manager Posts: 258 Employee

    @Paulzip thank you for

    based on what

    said I'm trying to quote text in this reply and I will have our devs do some testing as well to see if we are able to reproduce. If the way I quoted text above is not what you are suggesting in

    Please advise how you are going about it so I can try to do it your way. I just began typing and then clicked the quote icon under the comments I included.

    Thanks,

    Leigh

  • Leigh.Burke-Oracle
    Leigh.Burke-Oracle Community Experience Manager Posts: 258 Employee

    @Paulzip I did not have any issues posting

    so I'm wondering if I'm doing it differently or if there is a difference with the time of day that it is happening. Please let me know.

    Thanks again,

    Leigh

  • BluShadow
    BluShadow Member, Moderator Posts: 41,088 Red Diamond

    Well, as I'm typing replies (using Chrome browser), I keep on getting delays it the browser popping up this...


    to the point it's becoming impossible to type. Seems to start happening on replies after it's done it's first saving of the draft. Refreshing the page sometimes seems to bring it back for a bit, but then it starts happening again.

  • mathguy
    mathguy Member Posts: 9,840 Gold Crown

    @Leigh.Burke-Oracle


    I don't mean to be rude, but... this is not the first or second or third or fourth ... issue that your heaviest users are reporting. We are all reporting the same issues, and it seems that we all use different environments (OS, browser, etc.)

    Yet each time the answer from you and from your colleagues is that you are not able to reproduce the problem. But after more work (especially after we send you a lot more information) they are not only able to find the problem, they are even able to fix it.

    Doesn't this suggest that your developers should do a better job at trying to reproduce our problems? It feels to me that each time we are asked to do a good chunk of their job. I, for one, am done with that.

    Incidentally, you said "nothing has changed" on your end. That is demonstrably not the case. There used to be a link to the "current space" (such as SQL & PL/SQL) at the end of a thread, not just at the top of the page. That has now disappeared (after we had a long fight initially, to have it added) - and that happened, if I am not mistaken, exactly when the long delays for saving started happening again. Perhaps the two are not related, but "nothing has changed" can't be true.

  • Leigh.Burke-Oracle
    Leigh.Burke-Oracle Community Experience Manager Posts: 258 Employee

    @BluShadow thanks for the screenshot - I'm going to pass along to our devs to see if they can determine the cause. since I'm using Chrome as well and not receiving these errors.

    Thanks again,

    Leigh

  • Leigh.Burke-Oracle
    Leigh.Burke-Oracle Community Experience Manager Posts: 258 Employee

    @mathguy I apologize for the confusion - I meant nothing had changed with the specific scripts that were previously causing the issue.

    I understand your frustration with the reproduction issues, however please note we have numerous users externally and internally that are not experiencing the issues and we have numerous internal team members are in the system replying to comments in a variety of ways that are not experiencing the issue. Personally my process is to reach out and see if anyone else internally is experiencing the issues if I am not able to reproduce the issue myself, so I can work with the internal member to easily video/document the issues. If we don't have anyone internally experiencing the issue I send it directly to our developers to try and see if they are able to reproduce, if we are still not able to reproduce I do reach back out to see if the person reporting the issue is able to provide any more context for our testing, as sometimes the initial report is very general, but once we start talking we discover it is only occurs when certain actions are taken or sometimes it's when actions are done in a specific order.

    Thank you for working with us to help diagnose the previous issues and moving forward I will work with others to address this current issue.

    Thank you,

    Leigh

  • BluShadow
    BluShadow Member, Moderator Posts: 41,088 Red Diamond
    edited May 11, 2021 7:28AM

    I haven't tested today as I've only just come online, but when it was happening yesterday, it seemed that I was fine when I started posting a reply, and I could type a reasonable amount of reply, but then after a few minutes it would hang, show the error message and i could click Wait, and then if I waited I may be lucky and be able to type some more, but usually just a word or two before it would pop up again. Refreshing the page would bring me back with the saved draft of my message and I may be able to type another sentance or two before it would start happening again.

    Unfortunately, the error message in the screenshot appears truncated and the window doesn't allow me to do anything to look deeper at the message. I'll see how it gets on today and if I can find out anything more.


    Edit: p.s. forgot to mention, in the screenshot "Combination that leads to an error: Illegal use.." is the name of the thread title on the forum, not an actual error message. Wouldn't want your developers looking for that as an error message 😁

  • BluShadow
    BluShadow Member, Moderator Posts: 41,088 Red Diamond

    Note, it's definitely happening again today.

    if we are still not able to reproduce I do reach back out to see if the person reporting the issue is able to provide any more context for our testing, as sometimes the initial report is very general, but once we start talking we discover it is only occurs when certain actions are taken or sometimes it's when actions are done in a specific order.


    I'm not doing anything special.

    1. See notification that someone has replied to a thread I'm involved in.
    2. Click notification to open up that thread
    3. Read the current responses
    4. Start typing in the "Leave a Comment" box to add my reply
    5. Notice the occasional pause as it saves draft versions
    6. After a couple of minutes the "Page Unresponsive" message pops up, and I click "Wait"
    7. Whilst waiting i cannot type anything further
    8. If I'm lucky it may come back enough for me to type a little more before it pops up the unresponsive message again, if I'm unlucky I can't type anything and the message just pops up again.
    9. If I click refresh on my browser it tries to reload the page - again if I'm lucky it will reload with the last saved draft and i can continue typing for a bit before it happens again, if I'm unlucky it struggles to reload the page, and I'm better off just copying the URL, closing the tab on the browser, and pasting the URL in to a new tab so I can then continue on and hope I have enough time to finish my response before it happens again.


    I'd say that opening up a thread an posting a reply is nothing unusual for a forum 🤔

  • Paulzip
    Paulzip Member Posts: 8,370 Blue Diamond
    edited May 11, 2021 12:03PM

    @BluShadow Exactly what I experience. It's worth noting the CPU usage goes through the roof during the non responsive time - pretty much maxes out a core. It makes replying in these occasions impossible.

    Perhaps Oracle employees inability to replicate it, is domain related? I suggest they connect from outside of their domain or use a VPN or such and test.

  • BluShadow
    BluShadow Member, Moderator Posts: 41,088 Red Diamond

    I'll have to check the CPU with task manager. As I'm remotely controlling my office computer from home (over a year since I've been in the office now! woohoo!) I don't get to hear it's poor CPU fans whirring away under the strain. 😂

  • fac586
    fac586 Senior Technical Architect Member Posts: 19,774 Black Diamond

    Still happening. Slow draft saves and freezes whilst typing in this response post after the two code blocks were formatted.

Sign In or Register to comment.