Forum Stats

• 3,769,464 Users
  • 2,252,967 Discussions
  • 7,875,037 Comments

Discussions

The Basics for an Oracle Forms Developer

Hi, apologies, but I am a complete VBCS novice, in fact calling me a novice would be a promotion!

So, I've built many applications using Oracle Forms in the past and now want to learn how to develop using VBCS, with very little knowledge of anything web/cloud related!

I've searched Google, but I'm just not getting it, so hopefully you guys can point me in the right direction to get me started.

I have worked through the Oracle Visual Builder Get Started Web Application Workshop.

Background: Currently, I am supporting an Oracle application that I was involved in developing. This is primarily a Data Warehouse running on a clients servers and using Oracle 19c, so nothing to do with the Cloud. In this app are a few tables that are maintained using Oracle Forms 12c screens. What I would like to do is replicate the simplest of these screens in VBCS, but I have so many questions due to my lack of VB knowledge.

The application therefore needs to be based on a single database table in a database that is NOT in the cloud. It needs to be able to query, insert, update and delete data in that database table.

The workshop and all other tutorials I've looked at talk about Business Objects, which appear to be tables built on the fly by VB in a cloud database. I have been unable to find any examples of how to build a VB app based on an Oracle table that already exists and that isn't in the cloud.

I'm assuming I will have to do something like:

1. Build a stored database package to manipulate the table data (query, insert, update, delete). These are essentially API's, possibly one API procedure for each action?