13 Replies Latest reply: Dec 9, 2009 10:38 AM by 708209 RSS

Tabular form: how to dynamically enable/disable columns and rows

I am very new to ApEx so sorry if this has been dealt with before, but I cannot find a solution in the forums nor with Google, so here I am.

I have a tabular form based on a view, with two items as primary key and an instead-of trigger for update (only updates done there, not inserts/deletes), and the form works fine (I can update and requery, etc.) The form was created with the wizard, not manually.

My problem is, I need to disable (disable - not hide) some of the report's columns to prevent edits depending on the value of one of its own columns - for instance, a value of +"q"+ in the period column will enable/disable some columns, while a value of +"h"+ will enable/disable other columns. (The "q"/"h" value is the same for all rows in the form.)

In a similar fashion, I also need to disable/enable entire rows depending on another column's value.

To summarize, when displaying the tabular form, and depending on one column's value, I need to enable/disable some columns. Then, for each row I navigate to, and according to another column's value, I need to enable/disable one or more items on that row.

Any detailed help on how to do this would be greatly appreciated (and if you need more info please ask.)