2 Replies Latest reply: Jan 20, 2010 5:37 PM by oradebug RSS

investigating Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Greetings fellow Oracle professionals,

I'm relatively new to Oracle Database administration. Currently I'm investigating the possibilities of setting-up a replication site in the Amazon EC2. From a business perspective this seems like a good idea. I'm having a hard time finding information on the operational perspective though. There seems to be very little documentation on performance issues and configuration best practice. What about scaling. I saw a nice graph about how it is almost linear, but I cant find close to not documentation on it. It seems to me that it involves quite a bit of work to scale up a database to a bigger instance. What about stuff like having the redolog files on the fastest discs behind the fastest controllers? How does that relate to an EBS? I' m thinking network-drive in stead of SCSI monster.

Ok people, I would really appreciate you sharing your experiences and tips in this thread, pointers to technical documentation, performance test, stuff like that. It seems an aria the community hasn't invested in to much. Maybe someone knows why.

Kind regards,

Erik
        • 1. Re: investigating Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
          Greetings fellow Oracle professionals,

OK, I'm experimenting with the possibilities and will post the questions that I run into.