4 Replies Latest reply: Mar 19, 2010 2:03 PM by user55762 RSS

How to reimport relational table objects into RPD physical layer...

I am new to OBIEE. I am not sure how to reimport relational database tables into physical layer whenever the base database table structure changes.

How do I configure the ODBC or OCI 10G/11G connections on my computer so I can reimport objects into RPD on remote server.

I would appreciate it if you can give step by step instructions
      Thanks in advance.
        • 1. Re: How to reimport relational table objects into RPD physical layer...
          Hello -

You can re-import a table to the Physical Layer the exact same way that you would import the table for the first time:

1) Click File > Import > From Database...
          2) Select your data source connections
          3) Choose your table you wish to reimport

The system will warn you that you will overwrite the existing table and may lose information. The information you would lose is any discrepencies in the physical layer that are no longer existing in the actual database table. However, logical columns will NOT be overwritten.

Alternately, if it is a minor change to the table (say a column name change, or one additional column added), you can also manually add the column

1) Right Click on the already imported table in the presentation layer and select New Object > Physical Column...
          2) Name the column and provide the proper data type

The column now exists in the physical layer and will be properly associated with the new column in the database, assuming the same column name was attributed. You WILL have to drag this new column forward to the logical layer and presentation layer, as this will not be automatically done.

I hope this answers your question. If you found this helpful, please assign points!

Regards,
          Jason
          • 2. Re: How to reimport relational table objects into RPD physical layer...
            Jason,