6 Replies Latest reply: Mar 3, 2010 7:55 AM by 757382 RSS

Connecting to VM Manager on localhost with VM Server

I'm new to Linux and VM, so I knew this would be a challenge. I just keeping telling myself frustration and obsessive behavior are good things!

I am trying to install HCM 9.1 VM Templates onto a single workstation (4 gig Memory/Dual Processor) and have hit a small wall --- the first, I am sure, of many.

I installed the VM Server onto a clean hard drive.
      I installed the VM Manager (after resizing the default partition)
      I concatenated the HCM Database Images, used tar to extract and am ready to import them.

The documentation now says: Log into Oracle VM Manager and navigate to the Resources Tab.

Question(s):
      Since it appears I don't have a graphical Linux install from the VM Server image, how do I log onto the VM Manager and display it? Can it be controlled from the command line?

All that I have on the hard drive now is the VM Server, the VM Manager and whatever those installs put on the drive. Do I need to install something else?

Hoping others have been here!

Thank you,
      Patrick Harley Semple
        • 1. Re: Connecting to VM Manager on localhost with VM Server
          Nicolas.Gasparotto
          It would require a remote client to connect to the VM Manager with a browser interface through the VM Manager url.

Nicolas.
          • 2. Re: Connecting to VM Manager on localhost with VM Server
            Thanks Nicolas.

My goal, if it is possible, is to get everything onto a laptop for traveling, but it sounds like a chicken/egg type of problem: I need the VM Manager to load a VM, but I can't load the VM Manager because I don't have a graphical browser, which I could get if I loaded a VM.

So I assume, at least to get started, I will need a separate machine to remote in and run the VM Manager.