5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2010 7:09 PM by 667719

Generating target table primary key using Oracle sequences

user121437
      Hi,

I am new to ODI and struggling with a simple scenario.

I have two source tables in an Oracle DB, and I am trying to use them to populate a target table in another Oracle DB.

The target table has a primary key that is not derived from the source, instead, should be generated in the target db using an Oracle sequence.

I am getting the errors below when I don't make the primary key (SIM.SIM_SAMPLE_ID) map to anything.

936 : 42000 : java.sql.SQLException: ORA-00936: missing expression

java.sql.SQLException: ORA-00936: missing expression

at oracle.jdbc.driver.DatabaseError.throwSqlException(DatabaseError.java:125)
           at oracle.jdbc.driver.T4CTTIoer.processError(T4CTTIoer.java:316)
           at oracle.jdbc.driver.T4CTTIoer.processError(T4CTTIoer.java:282)
           at oracle.jdbc.driver.T4C8Oall.receive(T4C8Oall.java:639)
           at oracle.jdbc.driver.T4CPreparedStatement.doOall8(T4CPreparedStatement.java:185)
           at oracle.jdbc.driver.T4CPreparedStatement.execute_for_rows(T4CPreparedStatement.java:633)
           at oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleStatement.doExecuteWithTimeout(OracleStatement.java:1086)
           at oracle.jdbc.driver.OraclePreparedStatement.executeInternal(OraclePreparedStatement.java:2984)
           at oracle.jdbc.driver.OraclePreparedStatement.executeUpdate(OraclePreparedStatement.java:3057)
           at com.sunopsis.sql.SnpsQuery.executeUpdate(SnpsQuery.java)
           at com.sunopsis.dwg.dbobj.SnpSessTaskSql.execStdOrders(SnpSessTaskSql.java)
           at com.sunopsis.dwg.dbobj.SnpSessTaskSql.treatTaskTrt(SnpSessTaskSql.java)

and the generated statement is this:

/* DETECTION_STRATEGY = NOT_EXISTS */
      insert /*+ APPEND */ into SIM.I$_SIM_SAMPLE
      (
           OPERATIONAL_SAMPLE_ID,
           SMF_SAMPLE_NAME,
           SMF_CONCEPT_NAME,
           VENDOR_SAMPLE_ID,