14 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2010 12:26 PM by Boopathy Vasagam

How to do tnsping?

Boopathy Vasagam
      How to do tnsping?
      I am new to databse.
      i am using Oracle 10.2 database in windows XP. How to do 'tnsping' in that?
        • 1. Re: How to do tnsping?
          orawiss
          windows run => cmd => tnsping
          • 2. Re: How to do tnsping?
            user12003658
            Alternately,Go to OS command prompt, set environment variables for ORACLE_HOME and ORACLE_SID. Enter "tnsping <ORACLE_SID>"
            • 3. Re: How to do tnsping?
              orawiss
              http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B19306_01/network.102/b14212/connect.htm#i427276
              • 4. Re: How to do tnsping?
                Boopathy Vasagam
                This is my service_name entry in the tnsnames.ora

"orcl=(DESCRIPTION =
                     (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 172.31.41.147)(PORT = 1521))
                     (CONNECT_DATA = (SERVER = DEDICATED) (SERVICE_NAME = orcl)))"

Then should i do like this?
                <tnsping orcl>
                ???
                • 5. Re: How to do tnsping?
                  orawiss
                  yes it should work like this
                  tnsping orcl
                  • 6. Re: How to do tnsping?
                    Azar
                    C:\Users\Azar>set oracle_sid=azar

C:\Users\Azar>tnsping azar

TNS Ping Utility for 64-bit Windows: Version 11.2.0.1.0 - Production on 27-APR-2010 19:57:13

Copyright (c) 1997, 2010, Oracle. All rights reserved.

Used parameter files:
                    C:\app\Azar\product\11.2.0\dbhome_2\network\admin\sqlnet.ora

Used TNSNAMES adapter to resolve the alias
                    Attempting to contact (DESCRIPTION = (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = localhost)(PORT = 1521)) (CONNECT_DATA = (SERVER = DEDICATED) (SERVICE_NAME = azar)))
                    OK (80 msec)

C:\Users\Azar>sqlplus